CF Staff Writes Episode 8

Randy Opoku Barimah
CompleteFarmer
Published in
4 min readSep 2, 2021

A backend developer works mostly behind the scenes but has a significant impact on a software’s structure.

Kimberly, a backend developer, is a fresh university graduate who is deftly transcending the lines of on-the-job learning. This can be challenging at times, but it’s always exciting in the end.

READ ALSO: CF Staff Writes Episode 7

We spoke with Ms Ampiah, as she is affectionately known. She walked us through her unusual corporate journey, her ambitions, her hobbies, her role at Complete Farmer and how she adds value, as well as her future plans.

Kimberly E. Ampiah, Back-end Developer at Complete Farmer

Take a look at some of her perspectives as she opens up and tells us about her personal life and how it influences her productivity at Complete Farmer.

How long have you been working at Complete Farmer?

Well……I joined Complete Farmer as an Intern and a National Service Personnel so I have been working at Complete Farmer for a little over a year.

You’re a backend developer at Complete Farmer. Can you break down what a backend developer does?

To explain what I do……🤔……🙃…….🙂…..Got it!

It’s common knowledge and definitely not surprising that every application has 2 sides; the frontend (the client-side) and the backend (the server-side). As a backend developer, I basically manage the exchange of data between the server and the client.

How did you end up as a backend developer?

Well…..I have a strong conviction that frontend devs are artistic, fashionable and like design, colors, decor; things that concern aesthetics. I mean…so you can tell when a design doesn’t exactly cut it. Colors and designs always precedes interactivity. A user first has to download an app before they can experience it. And what exactly draws one to download an app aside from reviews? You guessed it — Design, Colors, Aesthetics.

Looking at myself, I am not the most artful person and definitely won’t know when some designs and color combinations are concerning so in a nutshell, I just knew frontend wasn’t for me so with every project given in school, I worked at the backend. Also, it is challenging and challenges intrigue me.😉

What’s your favourite part about being a backend developer?

Challenges and let’s not forget the money bit.

What’s one thing most people would be surprised to know about backend developers?

I think this is both subjective and relative. Honestly, I will end up giving a lecture if I am to explain this; but you know where to find me if you insist on an explanation. Anyway, simply, I don’t think there’s a particular trait that resonates among all backend developers that is surprising.

How would you describe your journey at Complete Farmer so far?

One word — Snowball😁

What’s one thing you’ve learned from working at Complete Farmer?

Accountability

What’s your favourite space at the Greenery?

I would say the canteen but it’s not exactly a canteen so it’s the lunch area.

If you could describe the various teams at complete Farmer using colours, what Colour would each team be and why?

White for Operations to represent the roots. I am opinionated that everything revolves around Operations. This is simply because as Complete Farmers, we are farmers in our own small ways but the Operations department literally embodies farming by participating actively in it.

Green for Tech to represent the stem. This is because as the stem connects the roots to the rest of the plant, we breach the gap and connect users to our viable products; providing them with a highly interactive and user-friendly platform to go about their businesses

Brown for Marketing signifying the branches because I believe our users are the leaves and marketing serves as the backbone for our users; tirelessly working to provide them the needed assistance round the clock.

How do you like to spend your weekends?

I spend my weekends growing and grooming myself. I am a staunch Personal Development advocate.

What inspires you to keep growing in your role as a backend developer?

My belief is in Complete Farmer’s vision and mission and my career and life goals.

What advice do you have for anyone looking to join the Complete Farmer family?

Be open-minded and willing.

READ ALSO: The Impact of COVID-19 on Food Value Chains

Listening to Kimberly reminds me of when I first started working after national service. Her ambition, zeal, and eagerness appear to be just the beginning.

--

--