Content Consumed: Doja Cat, The Regime, Hailey Bieber, TIME 100 and more

Casey Noller
Content Consumed
Published in
6 min readApr 14, 2023

Hey, hey! TGfreakinF, am I right? It’s been a weird and wild work week for me and I’m happy to have a weekend filled with springtime errands and plans with friends. Watch this space—there’s a green thumb in me somewhere.

In today’s edition of Content Consumed:

👩🏻‍💻 TIME 100, narrowed down by Content Consumed
🔪 Doja Cat raps on the “Kill Bill” remix with SZA
👑 Trailer: The Regime with Kate Winslet
🍝 Hailey Bieber’s cooking series, as told by People
🎬 Michael Cera and Kristen Stewart as husband and wife
🎼 Read this: Ice Spice on the cover of Paper Magazine

Content Consumed’s TIME 100’s Most Influential People

Listen, there are 100 people on that list every year. But who really influenced Content Consumed?

My picks, from the already-curated TIME list:

ARTISTS

  • Drew Barrymore
    The greatest interviewer of our time. There, I said it. Watch this clip with Brooke Shields and you’ll get it.
  • Aubrey Plaza
    Because White Lotus wouldn’t have been the same without her, and because she’s been on my personal list of influential people since season 2 of Parks and Rec.
  • Colin Farrell
    You guys already know Banshees was my favorite movie of the year and Colin Farrell interview clips on YouTube are all I’m recommended via the algorithm these days (and guess what… I’ve already watched them all!)
  • Colleen Hoover
    Don’t get me wrong: I do not like Colleen Hoover’s books. But I can’t deny that she’s influential to Content Consumed and my literary world. I have to pass so many of her books on lists to get to books I actually want to read!

ICONS

  • Jennifer Coolidge
    See: first line of Aubrey Plaza bit. Also, Jennifer Coolidge ruled the Internet this year, and I spend a lot of time on the Internet.
  • Pedro Pascal
    I devoted quite a bit of time to The Last of Us that I kind of wish I hadn’t. Like Jennifer Coolidge, Pedro Pascal is unavoidable on my corner of the Internet.
  • King Charles
    I do not like King Charles. But I can’t avoid the fact that he was a prominent character in Prince Harry’s Spare, which took over my brain for at least a week. He was also part of (weird way to say that, I know) Queen Liz’s death last year.

PIONEERS

  • Doja Cat
    Not much to say about this. I love Doja and she’s a creative musical genius. (Btw, read on to get my review of SZA’s “Kill Bill” remix featuring Doja today.) No one is doing it like her—or like her most recent, flawless album Planet Her.
  • Bella Hadid
    An unforgettable moment in fashion history happened last year when Bella Hadid had a dress sprayed onto her on the runway. She’s on dozens of magazine covers, hundreds of runways, and has become the most recognizable face (and body) in the industry today.

TITANS

  • Beyoncé
    You actually want me to explain this?
  • Patrick Mahomes
    I’m an NFL girlie now and Patrick Mahomes is just plain fun to watch. He’s really, really good at that little sport and the Kermit memes on Twitter make me laugh. His brother Jackson is equally entertaining to watch, in a different way.
  • Elon Musk
    I hate this man with every fiber of my being and I hate how much his stupid little billionaire shenanigans impact me, my Twitter algorithm, and Content Consumed. Unfortunately, that means he’s on this list.

INNOVATORS

  • Nathan Fielder
    No one does it like Nathan Fielder. The Rehearsal was one of the most original and insane pieces of television to ever exist, and Nathan Fielder’s mind is a wild and terrifying place.

Listen to Doja’s verse on “Kill Bill”

When Doja Cat teased a reunion with SZA, I was kind of hoping for a “Kiss Me More” Part 2 just in time for sunny days.

Nope! It’s a “Kill Bill” remix, baby! This also makes sense, given the song’s popularity and everyone loves a good Doja x SZA collab.

Doja raps about murdering her ex’s new girl in this new verse, staying on theme with the lyrics but adding a rougher, scratchier intro to SZA’s dreamy vocals. I’m a fan. Listen to it here.

Trailer: The Regime

Kate Winslet stars in a new limited series on HBO about “a year inside the palace of a “modern European regime” as it starts to unravel.” It’s from the same folks behind Succession and the trailer definitely gives those vibes.

It’s more like an authoritarian dictatorship and Kate Winslet looks perfectly vicious in a way that I, personally, have not seen her before. Martha Plimpton and Hugh Grant are also in the cast, but not many other recognizable names.

I’ll be watching!

Quick bites!

First, read this People Magazine piece (I promise it’s kind of worth it) about Hailey Bieber’s new “cooking show”. My favorite quote:

“You know I’m just somebody who’s very much about eyeing things,” she says. “I just constantly kind of pop it open and eye it and then I continuously flip them because you don’t really want one side to just get a lot more cooked than the other.”

Genius.

Second, Kristen Stewart and Michael Cera are starring in a road trip movie called Sacramento as husband and wife. Unfortunately, they won’t be the two people taking the road trip together; that’ll be Michael Cera and Michael Angarano as old buddies.

Third, do you know Ice Spice? Have I talked enough about her yet? And why wasn’t she on the TIME 100 list? Anyways, I enjoyed reading her PAPER Magazine cover. Learn more about the future (current?) queen of rap.

That’s all for today! I love you. Thanks for reading. Share this with your friends who love this kind of content, so I can reach 500 followers by the end of April!

See you Monday after another wild Succession episode.

Cheers,
Casey

👉🏼 Check out this week’s Succession recap and review over here.

👉🏼 Read the most recent Content Consumed over here.

👉🏼 Explore more content over on the Content Consumed Instagram.

👉🏼 Find out what I’m reading at my Goodreads profile.

--

--

Casey Noller
Content Consumed

Welcome to the dinner party. I'll let you know what everyone's talking about—and what everyone should be talking about—with my column, Content Consumed.