Content Consumed: Kieran Culkin, Kaytraminé, the Masters, AIR, and more

Casey Noller
Content Consumed
Published in
4 min readApr 7, 2023

Hey, hey! Happy freakin’ Friday. In today’s edition of Content Consumed, we’re taking some quick bites and I’m sharing my Weekend Content List.

QUICK BITES

🍗 Watch this YouTube video

Kieran Culkin’s Hot Ones episode. I love Hot Ones, the YouTube series where interviewer Sean Evans eats absurdly spicy chicken wings with celebrities as he drills them with thought-provoking questions about their careers.

Anything Kieran Culkin does would endlessly entertain me, and this episode made me laugh out loud multiple times. There were sweet moments too, like when Kieran goes on such a monologue about his favorite Nintendo games that it has to get edited down, montage-style.

🏝 Listen to this new song

Meet Kaytraminé, the name that record producer Kaytranada and rapper Aminé have given themselves as a duo. They released “4EVA”, which features Pharrell, at midnight yesterday, and a full album is coming. It’s groovy and a perfect springtime tune. I’m a huge fan of Portland local Aminé (less familiar with Kaytranada), so I’m stoked to dive into their album.

⭐️ Try these two podcasts

First of all, I have been laughing every 30 seconds at If Books Could Kill’s episode on Rich Dad Poor Dad, that awful personal finance book from the 90s. Nope: I’ve never listened to If Books Could Kill. Yes: I will listen to every episode now. Is Rich Dad Poor Dad the worst and most misleading and poorly written book of all time? It might be, honestly. And I’ve been religiously listening to Celebrity Memoir Book Club for years, so I’ve heard about a fair share of bad books.

Second, if you’re into Formula 1, give Fan Behavior a try. It’s hosted by two young American girls who got into Formula 1 semi-recently, so don’t expect expert analysis. That’s what BBC’s Chequered Flag pod is for. But it’s fun to hear the girlies chitchat about F1 and hot drivers. Someone’s gotta do it!

Weekend Content List

We are in a sports drought. It’s tough, but it’s reality. This weekend especially: March Madness is over, Formula 1 doesn’t have another race for weeks, NBA hasn’t hit the exciting post-season mark yet, NFL is nonexistent, MLB is just starting up…

Do I need to start watching golf? Can I dive into the Masters this late? Should I?

Besides that, my further weekend content plans include:

  • Seeing AIR in theaters. I’ve heard it’s good, I love Ben Affleck unironically at this point, and I’m a sucker for sports movies and shows. I’ve been excited about this one for a while.
  • Succession on Sunday. Duh!!! See you on Monday for my usual review and recap. Here is last week’s if you missed it.
  • Finishing The Faraway World: Stories by Patricia Engel. I’ve been a fan of Patricia Engel since I first read Infinite Country, a profound piece of literature, two years ago. This new book follows similar themes of immigration and family and doing what one must do to survive, but it’s full of short stories instead of one long narrative. I’ve been reading one short story each night and it’s perfect. Primarily set in Colombia, but also Cuba and the U.S.
  • Listening to Ellie Goulding’s new album. Our “Lights” queen deserves a comeback.
  • Reading this entire stupid article about naked dinner parties in New York City. I need to decide if my immediate reaction of “ew” is warranted.

And that’s it for today! Thank you for reading! See you back here on Monday to talk Succession and more.

Cheers,
Casey

👉🏼 Read the most recent Content Consumed over here.

👉🏼 Explore more content over on the Content Consumed Instagram.

👉🏼 Find out what I’m reading at my Goodreads profile.

--

--

Casey Noller
Content Consumed

Welcome to the dinner party. I'll let you know what everyone's talking about—and what everyone should be talking about—with my column, Content Consumed.