Welcome — Introduction

Bhavin Prajapati
Cook 2 Code
Published in
2 min readDec 5, 2022

Working with engineers and not being able to code caused a lot of heartache. I felt inadequate and honestly, like a piece of shit. But… something started to happen.

Photo by Gabriel on Unsplash

I’ve been trying to learn to code for 15 years. The excuses piled up. Working as a Product Manager, I learned a lot of concepts over the years but when I tried to learn programming, I had no momentum.

As famed psychologist, Viktor Frankl said, with “why” to live, one can endure almost any “how” (paraphrase).

I had no “why”.

Working with engineers and not being able to code caused a lot of heartache. I felt inadequate and honestly, like a piece of shit. But… something started to happen.

During the pandemic, I rediscovered cooking and I forgot how important it was for me. It started to fix and rewire my brain, this became a new keystone behaviour, something Dr. Tim Pichyl taught me. A keystone behaviour gets people into motion.

Cooking is helping me learn new skills; it’s my “backend code” and it allowed me to build necessary mental models and metaphors to learn the concepts. Even my exercises and small projects are related to cooking. I thought to myself maybe others can learn how to code through cooking analogies. There are articles on the topic but not a dedicated blog.

I’ve always expressed myself better through action and the written word, perhaps cooking and coding respectively? Both cooking and coding seem like an authentic expression of my inner world that I always struggled to share with other means of communication.

Sounds like freedom… that’s a why.

So… welcome to Cook 2 Code, my taste of freedom.

Word count: 247
Twitter: @bhavprajapati

Why 250 words? I have a blog called Fiftytwo250 where I write random essays over the week, capped at 250 words or less. You can learn more about the blog at fiftytwo250.com and the introduction post on the premise of a word cap here: https://medium.com/fiftytwo250/welcome-to-52-250-e955e3ac962e

--

--

Bhavin Prajapati
Cook 2 Code

#healthTech #productManagement #design #writing #fitness #systems