Study Resources

Antonio D'Costa
CostaPG
Published in
3 min readFeb 11, 2019

The first step you do before starting your NEET PG journey is to be precisely sure on what you have to study- As best you can.

You cannot afford to waste your time studying what you like, when you have no clue if it’s important, or just plain useless.
Your competition out there is focused on studying dedicatedly for just one exam- NEET PG. Nothing else matters. There's honestly no time.

PART A:

Talk to your seniors who’ve got a good rank- ask what they used to study.
Then talk to more seniors- ask what THEY used. Don’t settle with just one’s opinions.
Find out how they studied, how long; Ask what they feel gave them an edge, especially the last 15 days before the exam.

Everyone is different, and you need to find out what combination of study techniques works for you.
So, ask a lot.

People are nice, and they’ll love to help you. If they don’t reply now, they’ll reply in 3–4 days. Be polite. Have gratitude.
Sometimes they may not give you all the info they have, which is why you ask as many you can so you get a clear Idea on how to proceed with your studies.

PART B:

How I went through this phase…

In the beginning, I knew nothing and used utterly useless books- one’s for USMLE, etc.

WRONG.

Later, I asked my batch who’d got a good seat what they used, and how they studied and what they focused on.
And I asked a couple- 5 people to be precise.

Each had their own thing, but the common denominator was- REVISION.

  • I now knew what to do- So I applied for coaching from a reputed institute, whose notes I knew would have high yield for NEET PG.

The second common factor everyone told was that I had to focus and SOLVE MCQs, especially focus on PAST YEAR NEET PG MCQs, as these WILL get repeated 110%, and hence sets the base between who’s studied and who has not.

  • So I applied for An MCQ Bank from another reputed App.

The third and final thing was that I had to do Grand Tests Regularly.

  • So I applied for Test Series from a third reputed Coaching Institute.

My strategy was that if I go for different institutes, I’ll get the experience and “style” of 3 different institutes rather than just banking and trusting one.
And they indeed do have different teaching styles.

I couldn't ever manage Grand Tests as they require 9 hours to complete, but I did sincerely do Subject Wise Tests from both the Test Series, as well as the Coaching Classes.
I’ll explain the importance of these in a later article.

I never did guide books, as the Coaching class instructed us not to, but I suppose it all depends on YOU- on what you want your strategy to be.

So decide wisely after consulting seniors, and set up a study system YOU are CONVINCED with, so you stick to it through the whole course.

And make sure you follow up and complete all that you’ve chosen to do.
Don’t waste your investments.

More details on studying and time management will be explained in further articles.

{This article is a part of the CostaPG publication.}

--

--

Antonio D'Costa
CostaPG

Doctor- MD Pediatrics, KEM and Wadia Hospitals, Mumbai.