Friday The 13th Part 2 (1981) Review: Not Without My Holt.

It’s still Thursday.

Dylan Grable
Counter Arts

--

Image Source: IMDB

Alert: Spoilers and irrelevant opinions ahead.

Out of all the ‘Friday The 13th’ films, this is my only second favourite.

I hadn’t seen this in a couple of years, and I was more than excited to revisit it. I’m glad to say that I love it even more now.

However, there are a few missteps I noticed.

Five years after the end of the last film, a group of counsellors move into a new camp near Camp Crystal Lake. The killings begin again after Jason finds out they don’t care about noise pollution.

It’s another simple plot, but the reveal that Jason is still alive more than makes up for it. Not only that, but the characters are more compelling than last time.

Leading the charge is Ginny (Amy Steel), a counsellor that’s assisting her boyfriend, Paul (John Furey) with running a counsellor training camp.

She is by far the best final girl of the series, and one of the best characters period.

She brings this bright energy to the cast that puts a smile on my face. There’s also a level of sassiness in her banter with Paul that I adore.

--

--

Dylan Grable
Counter Arts

I’m just someone on the internet who likes to talk about horror films, shark movies, and whatever else comes to mind.