A Tribute to Olivia Newton-John

He Was My John Travolta to My Sandy, Grease Made Me Realize I Was Gay

Rest in love Olivia Newton-John

I, Napoleon B.
Counter Arts
Published in
5 min readAug 10, 2022

--

He Was My John Travolta to My Sandy, Grease Made Me Realize I Was Gay
Courtesy of Paramount Pictures, A cut from the movie, Grease.

I was nine and he was ten when I first laid my eyes on him. It was also my first day in my new school.

When we moved houses, my siblings and I moved to a different school.

I wasn’t prepared for what was about to happen that changed the course of my adult life when I was nine years old.

He was my first crush.

It was a deeply buried memory, only to resurface upon the news that our beloved Olivia Newton-John has died from cancer, she was 73.

I wrote about why we are affected by the deaths of celebrities, and who wouldn't be upon hearing of Olivia’s death?

Especially people of my age who are in their 50s, who grew up with her songs, and not only did we know the lyrics, we lived by them. We were Sandys to our Dannys and have been singing to the men or women we loved or thought to have…

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
Counter Arts

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS