How I Made a Large Wall Print from an iPhone 6S

Derrick Story
Counter Arts
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2021

--

Every few years we like to change the pictures around the house. All sorts of artwork gets mixed together, including a few of my photographs.

When it’s time to pick the new shots, I open up the laptop and browse images based on a few general ideas we’ve discussed. One of the recent concepts was to find a companion shot for an Ansel Adams print we already had of the San Francisco Golden Gate before the bridge.

“Wouldn’t it be fun to have one of your shots on the wall with it?” Theresa said. “It’s the ultimate before and after.”

I loved the idea.

So I searched my Photos library for Golden Gate Bridge entries. Since we live in the North Bay, there was no shortage of candidates to choose from.

The funny thing about looking for pictures this way is that you don’t really know the circumstances and cameras involved for any particular result. The images that appeared in search ranged from film to full-frame digital.

I was a little surprised, however, that the leading contender was captured with an iPhone 6S during a scouting trip for a workshop. Theresa asked, “How about that one?” I checked the metadata and was taken aback.

“Is that a problem?” she asked.

--

--