The New Tudor Black Bay 58 GMT “Coke”: Why Would Anyone Want a Rolex?

Once again, Tudor shows its bigger brother Rolex how it’s done

MVW Encyclopedia
Counter Arts

--

Credit: Tudor

Whether we like it or not (I certainly don’t), Rolex is the king of the watch space. With a roughly 30% of total participation within the Swiss watch market, their influence is quite simply undeniable at this point. Nonetheless, every so often I am reminded that such an insane dominance is hard to justify. Their watches are very “samey”, they are ridiculously expensive and brutally hard to acquire. So it shouldn’t come as a surprise that it’s been quite a while since the last time a Rolex release felt even remotely exciting.

Until now.

I present you one of my personal picks for Watches and Wonders 2024 as well as a timepiece that will possibly catapult Tudor’s sales this year. This is the new Black Bay 58 GMT with a black and burgundy bezel. AKA the Tudor “Coke”.

To explain a little bit where I’m coming from, let’s list out the basic specs and work our way from there. Because this brand new model could become something quite legendary further down the line.

•Case: 39 mm

•Lug-to-lug: 47.8 mm

•Thickness: 12.8 mm

--

--

MVW Encyclopedia
Counter Arts

Movies. Video Games. Watches. If you are passionate about any of these, I guarantee I’ll piss you off at least once.