Are Serial Killers Born or Made Evil?

A study of British serial killers

Sam H Arnold
CrimeBeat
Published in
4 min readDec 7, 2020

--

Photo by Vinicius "amnx" Amano on Unsplash

Last week I received a comment on one of my articles. It stated that the killers had been born evil. Although I didn’t disagree with it, it went against what I have always believed. People are not born bad, they are made worse through their circumstances.

This thinking was largely associated with the children I worked with. Although I have worked with murderers, none of them was serial killers. It was time to examine my ideals. Are serial killers born or created through their background? The oldest question in psychology, nature or nurture.

Common characteristics of many serial killers

When the FBI started profiling serial killers they spoke to many serial murderers. One of the most famous of these was Edmund Kemper. They discovered many common traits between them. They used these traits to help profile serial killers of the future. This knowledge helped apprehended many killers. It is the three main traits that I will examine within British serial killers.

A large proportion of serial killers are classed as psychopaths with a lack of empathy and poor relationships. Yet not everyone, who is a psychopath, kills. Some heads of multi-million-pound companies are considered psychopaths.

--

--

Sam H Arnold
CrimeBeat

My writing is now on Substack. Find me there for True Crime, Writing Tips, Books and Fiction - https://substack.com/@samharnold