Active retirement

A Journey of Discovery

Prompt: Hobbies

Ann Litts
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readFeb 3, 2023

--

Photo by Taylor Simpson on Unsplash

I have written previously about how, since retirement, my entire home has been transformed into a Hobby Shop. Jigsaw puzzles are assembled on my dining room table, knitting, and crocheting projects sit on my living room end table. My kitchen is home to All. The. Things. baking. It currently smells like the apple pie I made yesterday, but will shortly be filled with the smell of baking bread. My guest room underwent a transformation and is now a yoga/meditation space. My den not only accommodates my reading chair but also my sewing machine, patterns, iron, and ironing board as I have started sewing again — this time around making doll clothes for The Magical Creatures instead of real clothes for my daughters. My nightstand holds Suduko and crossword-puzzle books as well as my Kindle for any late-evening entertainment.

These are all activities I enjoyed throughout my life, at least I enjoyed them when I found the time.

These days, however, I have loads and loads of time. So I’m revisiting all the fun stuff I loved and embracing it. I’m even finding time left over to find some new hobbies. My latest passion is swimming.

I always loved swimming, but when I was a kid in Northeast Pennsylvania, swimming only happened for a couple of months a year in the…

--

--