Near-Death Experiences and Other Phenomena

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readOct 13, 2021

--

Have you ever encountered anything like this?

Photo by Jackson David on Unsplash

The topic of death is uncomfortable for many people. But for me, it holds endless fascination.

What really happens? Do we go to heaven or hell? Is there really such a thing as purgatory or limbo? Is there a God, or just nothingness? Are we regenerated, coming back as a dog, caterpillar or a dolphin?

Who really knows?

Many of us have encountered odd things that have happened related to death. The media is cluttered with stories about ghosts, near-death experiences and other unusual paranormal activity related to the dying process.

I’ve already written about a few of these HERE.

Below are some other unusual things that have taken place with people I have known.

One morning in 1993, my partner told me about feeling a hand brushing the side of her face as she was waking up. She wasn’t sure what it was until she got a phone call from her older sister telling her that her father had passed away. My partner was pretty sure that it was her dad letting her know that he had passed on and that he was in a better place.

At 86, one of my older friends lost her husband. As we got to know one another, she told me stories about feeling her deceased husband lying in…

--

--

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

Top writer in humor, short stories, writing, advice and poetry. She’s written for Newsweek, Wall St. Journal, Good Housekeeping, and Chicken Soup for the Soul.