What Makes a Great Mentor?

CSforALL
CSforALL Stories
Published in
4 min readMar 29, 2018

A #WomensHistoryMonth post by Lizzie Siegle, a computer science major at Bryn Mawr College and incoming/contracting developer evangelist for Twilio.

If it had not been for amazing mentors and sponsors, I wouldn’t have my incoming job, past internship, stuck with computer science, or even wanted to go into tech. There is a distinction between a mentor and a sponsor, though it is but subtle: a mentor helps you understand the industry or field, answers questions and provides support; a sponsor openly advocates on your behalf, recommends you for different roles or opportunities, and is more proactive.

A great mentor can still make all the difference, however. Just knowing I have someone who has my back and is rooting for me, boosts my confidence, allows me to take risks and do more. A great mentor inspires and motivates me in all aspects of my life, but what makes one great?

  • They’re a few steps ahead of you. They’ve already figured most of their job and life out (usually). They’ve seen and heard a lot of things regarding companies, conferences, people, etc. They’ve made mistakes, but they’ve learned from them — and now they can pass their experience and knowledge on to you.
  • They’re not perfect. Even though I put a few people on pedestals and talk about them constantly, I know they’re not perfect (even though I treat them as such because they’re pretty dang close). Not being perfect makes them relatable, their status more attainable, and their advice and story more authentic.
  • They give you their time. This one’s important: mentoring doesn’t need to take up a lot of time, but when you have a question or want to meet up, all of their focus is on you and them (remember, mentoring is a two-way street — both parties should ask and answer questions about the other!)
  • They’re accessible. I talk to mentors on Facebook Messenger, Slack, Twitter DM, Instagram, Snapchat…you get the idea. I ask questions related to my future and work, but also about their lives, current events, Disney… anything.
  • Even if you don’t communicate often, you know they’re there. I’m interested in developer relations which is a more forward-facing, public role, so I follow a lot of people on Twitter. It’s amazing to see what they’re doing with their jobs and lives, and when they drop a like on one of my tweets, I fangirl over it.
  • It’s a two-way street. Remember, you can teach and inspire them too. Let them ask questions as they let you ask them questions. They can advocate for you in terms of furthering your work, but you can advocate for them too. I constantly talk about mentors, sponsors, and people I look up to. I hope one day someone younger than me will talk about how I’ve supported their career goals.
  • Don’t discriminate! I have mentors who are men, non-binary, who are in business and don’t code, who are students, and more. Anyone can teach you something.

I don’t really like the mentor/sponsor label because I think it’s not about who they are, it’s about what they do. To me, it’s more of an verb than a noun.

To find mentors and sponsors, don’t sit around asking for them to mentor you. Be proactive and put in the work. I started out by asking people I found on Twitter or met at events a few questions, and then asked for an email. I kept in touch with more questions and updates, and followed up for an in-person meeting when I could.

I periodically attend events that I know one will be at, and we’ve become friends. To be friends with mentors or sponsors, regardless of age, is ideal I think.

You can also mentor others while you’re being mentored, particularly with friends who have similar interests or younger students. As a Roger Federer ad once told me, “a life inspired inspires others.”

In short, good mentors can change your life and career path. They empower, nurture, and support you, and ultimately become your friends as well. A diverse group of mentors will give you different perspectives, ideas, and goals to strive for. I have one who is very chatty and one who is not. They are opposites, but I try to be like both of them in almost everything I do. Great mentors like them will give you the confidence to go out there, and crush it. But remember to return the favor to those who were once in your shoes.

Lizzie is a senior computer science major at Bryn Mawr College and incoming contracting developer evangelist for Twilio. She co-directs Spectra, the largest women’s hackathon in the Bay Area, and enjoys tennis, table tennis, reading, running, and eating avocados. You can find Lizzie on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Medium, and GitHub.

--

--

CSforALL
CSforALL Stories

The national hub for the Computer Science for All movement, making high-quality computer science education an integral part of K-12 education in the US.