I Stopped Watching YouTube Videos When I Learned This

You will think twice before playing another video

Shreya Badonia 🧨
Curious

--

Visual from freepik

I used to watch 50 videos every day. They ranged from my favorite creator talking about their work to various spectrums of life and business.

As a former designer, I could listen to anything while working on Adobe Suite.

I was a hustler, and toxic productivity was my best friend.

These videos would play in the background while I did admin work, housework, and workouts.

I had 20 tabs open with over 1000+ videos on my watch list.

But then I observed something fishy. I saw a pattern, which made me limit watching YouTube.

Why do we watch so many videos?

Initially, YouTube used to be a video version of Google. Over time it became a hub for knowledge and entertainment.

I used it as a pseudo productivity tool. My dopamine will shoot up with one Gary Vee video or The Knowledge Project podcast in the background.

It entertained me. It made me feel like I was achieving something and I was ahead of others — all of this while eating junk and not making any progress on my online business.

--

--

Shreya Badonia 🧨
Curious

Multi-passionate creator | visual thinker living an island life 🏝️ Join my weekly newsletter 📣 https://shreyasls.substack.com/