Changing My Mind On Life Coaching

Hansen N Hunt
Daily Human Excellence
10 min readAug 16, 2020

--

Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

Life coaches are for weak people, or so I thought.

Even after a year of doing serious work on leading an excellent life, I still had some pretty terrible ideas of what a life coach was, who it was for, and why it wasn’t for me.

Now, I’m excited to try out new coaches, go further with my first coach, and considering learning how to be a coach. Quite a turnaround in a few months. To give you a taste, the most meaningful piece of writing I’ve done, Love Letter to My Shadow, came out of a coaching session (more examples of what I worked on below).

My preconceived notions about life coaches:

  1. Who it’s for: Life coaches are for people who have screwed up lives and/or no idea what they want with their career
  2. Who coaches are: Coaches are life gurus that have unlocked all the secrets to life and are now helping teach what they have learned.
  3. How coaches treat you: Coaches are superior at life and therefore their customer, you, is inferior.
  4. What they focus on: Coaches focus on helping you with your career or other aspects of life that would impact your career.
  5. Their limitations: Coaches aren’t therapists so you can’t get into the deep stuff. I had some demons…

--

--

Hansen N Hunt
Daily Human Excellence

Daily Human Excellence | Connector | Innovator | Lifelong Learner | Marathoner | Marketing Strategist.