Speaking With an Accent: Smart, Brave, and Bold

Understanding the strength behind multilingual communication

Gabriela Trofin-Tatár
Dancing Elephants Press
5 min readJun 26, 2024

--

“Do you know what a foreign accent is? It’s a sign of bravery.”

Amy Chua, Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother

Living in a country different from where I was born has been quite an adventure and a continuous learning journey.

Learning Hungarian while being completely immersed in the culture has opened up new worlds for me, but it’s also shown me the struggles of speaking with a foreign accent.

Trust me, a foreign accent doesn’t mean someone is less intelligent, but it actually feels a bit like bravery. I have met many people with a love for languages traveling and making new countries their homes. These people are usually highly adaptable and curious, with lifelong learning as their passion.

When I first tackled Hungarian, it felt like trying to tame a wild beast with its complex grammar and strange sounds. I honestly couldn’t distinguish words as separate when someone spoke on the local radio. Later, it suddenly dawned on me that I could distinguish and understand slowly. Read here my story of how I landed (manifested) my first corporate job and moved to Hungary.

--

--

Gabriela Trofin-Tatár
Dancing Elephants Press

Passionate about tech and KM, MSc in International Business. Conscious Parenting advocate. https://chicachiflada.substack.com/