Valuable Life Lessons from My Baking Journey

Of baking paper and a hundred dollars note

--

Photo by Artur Rutkowski on Unsplash

Whenever I’m looking for answers in life, I’ve found my hands in flour or getting busy spinning the web of a dreamcatcher. I find ideas and solutions I otherwise wouldn’t.

Every other weekend I put on my baker hat and try my hand at yet another type of bread. I love bread. I have bread every day for breakfast. I love a soft slice of bun with a boiled egg. It’s filling, comforting, and goes well with chai. I love me a slice of sourdough too.

It’s only when you try your hand at something that you really learn how to get things to work, and then work better. I had such an epiphany with baking paper.

One day I tore out a square sheet to line my rectangular tin. Then I made slits in the baking paper for it to fit the shape of my tin. But the paper was hard to control and curled as if it were still on the roll.

I didn’t have a helping hand around to hold the paper in the tin out of my way. My dough stuck to the baking paper upon sliding out of the pot it was rising in. It was difficult to tear away the dough for the baking paper.

Baking is messy. Just like life.

In one of the recipes, I read a hack I will never forget!

--

--

Lata Kokal (formerly Neha Sonney)
Dancing Elephants Press

Healed from Narcissistic Abuse | Author of 📗: WIRED FOR SELF-LOVE |🎙The Relationship Academy | Free 📚: NehaSonney.Gumroad.com | IG & YT @latakokalofficial