More dope content coming soon

Ayodeji Afolabi
Dear Marketing Student
3 min readJul 11, 2017

Plus 2 additional content formats. stay tuned

Reflecting on my side project

The very last time I wrote a proper article for this publication, I was pretty new to creating content. I remember it being a long slog to research and write each new post.

I remember the process being arduous and time-consuming. It soon became impossible to publish new posts on a consistent basis. I finally decided to put my work on the publication on hold indefinitely to have the time to focus on other things.

In a way, I’m pleased with just how difficult back then. In the time I spent on working on Dear Marketing Student, I’ve become immensely more efficient and advanced with researching and content creation. I wrote about the valuable lessons I learned from the side project here:

Why now?

I started Dear-marketing-student because I felt I had the knowledge and ability, to create valuable content specifically for someone like me, ‘A Marketing Student’. I still feel this way and so I’m bringing Dear-marketing-student back, creating content on this publication on a regular basis once again. In the far future, I have exciting things planned for an email newsletter version of Dear Marketing student.

What now? (Hint: dope content)

Back to the medium publication though, From the feedback, I have been getting on people’s reading habits, I feel like the value proposition of news content isn’t as compelling as I once thought. So I’ve been experimenting with other content formats and I’ve settled on three different content formats that I will be creating going forward. These are listed below with a brief description.

News posts

This will be the format that you’re already familiar with on this publication. However with some minor tweaks. The content will be shorter and more scannable. In addition, selection of topics will be stricter to provide more relevance.

Opinion/Editorial posts

This format will give me more freedom to explore questions that marketing students are actually asking or wondering, instead of strictly news-related topics. The aim of these posts is to tackle issues that affect marketing students, but very few talk about. I know from first-hand experience, many marketing students occasionally get not-so-satisfactory career advice because that advice is based on anecdotes and personal experiences rather than researched backed analysis. The latter of which is what I plan to do with this content format.

Blog-ish posts

This format will feature posts just like the one you are reading now. the purpose of this is talk about Dear marketing student in a more transparent way about things like updates, progress, behind the scenes stuff and more. I thought of doing this because talking about my plans in a public manner will keep me accountable to myself and allow me to write some not-so-serious content every now and then.

Dear-marketing-student was created for marketing students, who desire real world knowledge and advice that they won’t get in a classroom by a fellow marketing student, Ayo Afolabi. Click here to find out more about why he created it. If you like this post give it a 💚 and share! :) If you want to get in touch with us, drop us a line at Hello@dearmarketingstudent.com

--

--

Ayodeji Afolabi
Dear Marketing Student

Digital marketer | #startup enthusiast | @uwinnipeg 16' @Bcit 18' | Working to providde value | Fam @tosinAF