ux in vr/ar/xr Reading

From your own experiences using and now evaluating XR applications, are there other VR/AR design best practices that you would add to Timoni’s analysis?

I personally like his intro, where he mentions that users need time to orient themselves with the environment. For most users this will be the first time using the VR/AR/XR system and they are already overloaded, so you should allow them time to explore and learn a little and then begin the explanation. This can also be done with a simple icon such as “Begin Now” or something like that, an audio overlay etc. I see this a lot on highways as well, in the case of the speed limit sign, where the speed limit sign in too close to the on ramp for the driver to see it, they are focused on merging into traffic, not speed limits. Then once the driver is situated on the road they look for the speed limit signs. I agree with his coverage on this topic.

Timoni’s commentary that most users don’t read static instructions is true, I hate reading those, it slows down the story and can often slow it down so much that it ruins the experience so I prefer to click through as fast as I can. Many games have gotten more complicated that I would prefer and with that their explanations have also gotten more complicated making me not want to play many of the new games. This was the scenario with the New Zelda Breath of the Wild, I only bought a switch to play that game, and instead I stopped playing after a while and instead play Mario Kart as it is an easier game to get into and out of during the week.

For the Controllers I think it would be great for a controller to instead use the electrical pulses that our body makes through the hands to control and manipulate items in a game. This would make the whole experience more believable rather than using joysticks and handles, which can often take you out of the game. A controller like a glove system might work as well.

As the game mentioned narration for teaching a user how to do something works great, such as Navi in the Legend of Zelda. The narrator can’t be annoying and must only show up when the user needs help, otherwise it can detract from the experience.

I overall liked the article and can relate to many of the topics he discussed. It makes me think about the certain games and interactions I like and why I like them and really gets me thinking about how I can improve the UX for my future projects.

--

--