Community Spotlight with GodsFavour Ezeliora

An ASUU strike diary

Ibukunoluwa Samuel
devcareers
8 min readSep 5, 2022

--

The rift between ASUU and FGN and the attendant strike action that messed up the academic calendar left thousands of students in Nigerian Public Universities unhappy, including those who wanted a break from academic work. Several closed-door meetings and negotiations have yielded little outcome leaving many to ask if both parties will ever conclude. The 6month old industrial action has overstayed its welcome, nevertheless, many students are wielding the gift of time to their advantage through various engagements and this final year student is no exception.

I had a chat with Godsfavour Ezeliora (@favour-codes), a graduate of Cooperative Economics from Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka. Saved for the strike, Godsfavour should be halfway through her one-year National Youth Service Program but here we are. For many students like Godsfavour, the strike is a time to reconnect with their interests, pick a new hobby or engage in a side gig. Thanks to the ease of entry provided by technology, she is currently discovering frontend engineering. She tells me when ASUU and FGN finish their public performance, she will resume her clearance exercise after which she will proceed for NYSC.

The journey from Cooperative Economics to Frontend Engineering.

I started Frontend Engineering purely out of a quest to acquire a new skill long before the strike came into the picture. A number of events, however, fueled this decision, one of them being the acquisition of Paystack in 2020 for over $200m+ by Stripe. I was inspired by how Shola and Ezra grew a payment startup to global admiration. I started asking myself questions like, what is this tech thing sef? From my research, I discovered you do not need a Computer Science degree to venture into tech, and transition from any background is possible given the right amount of dedication. I couldn’t resist the satisfaction that comes with building a solution that millions of people find useful, so I hopped on. It was all the more enticing with the possibility to work anywhere in the world remotely — not a lot of jobs offer this flexibility.

When I identified what I wanted to do, I started asking people in my immediate circle the right questions. I would later find tech communities in my university that shaped my interest. I am driven by the principle that you don’t stop looking for that which you desire, so I applied it in my quest to discover tech.

The impact of micro tech-communities.

I discovered tech communities like Git Community, Microsoft Community and a ton of other active communities in my University. The first person I approached during one of the developer student community events encouraged me to do my research. The emergence of tech communities in schools is shaping young minds and creating awareness at the grass root level. I don’t even think we had them during year one and two, but that is changing fast. The community I identified with was instrumental in answering a lot of beginner questions I had through their seminar/meetup. I remember Git community organized a 3wks bootcamp and another group invited a professional to give a talk on a trendy subject to the few of us in attendance. They are intentional about creating the right environment through their student-focused programs. They also serve as an avenue to connect with like minds, they encourage participants to share their progress and ask questions.

What was your introduction to Frontend engineering?

My first point of contact was YouTube. I later enrolled for DevCareerXProgate scholarship but before then, I relied on YouTube videos and resources online. The only setback I experienced with YouTube learning was the absence of a curriculum. You could get lost in the stream of videos and resources available on the platform. The algorithm is designed to keep suggesting more videos based on engagement- not that this in itself is a bad thing. Without a direction, you wouldn’t know exactly where you are or where you are headed. DevCareerXProgate scholarship came to fill the gap created by YouTube learning. Progate is one of the structured platforms that introduced the concept of frontend engineering adequately to me. The platform is fitted with a script editor which makes for seamless practice. It was easy to learn and implement concurrently.

Staying back in school as opposed to going home.

When the strike started, I was supposed to go home just like every student but I decided to stay back in school. This decision was easy because I already defined what I needed to do with my free time. To learn a new skill, you need uninterrupted dedication and time. For a tech-inclined internship, you need a lot of time and data. At first, my folks had their reservations which is natural. Anyone would raise an eyebrow at such a decision given the state of the nation, I mean school is almost deserted saved for a few people. However, not leaving my folks in the dark, constant progress update, and alot of safety assurance did the trick. I also did some amount of explanation about what I wanted to do. I made them understand how much investment goes into the internships I signed up for, and I told stories of people who have walked this path. Even though they do not understand the technical stuff they try to be supportive as much as they can.

ASUU strike, a blessing in disguise?

My introduction to Frontend engineering coincided was my final exams so I relaxed on my pursuit to focus on school but it was not a case of neglect. With the strike, I simply picked up from where I left off. At intervals, when I remember what would have been a natural order (final exams followed by final clearance then NYSC posting), I take comfort in new blessings. The strike not only disrupted school activity but it cost me an internship opportunity that requires my B.SC certificate. Save for that, it afforded me ample time to focus on my learning and engage different learning platforms.

How did you come across DevCareer and DevCareerXProgate scholarship?

I saw someone talking about Progate on Twitter and when I went through their timeline, it was filled with the person’s progress using the #90daysofcode. I followed DevCareer on Twitter, and shortly after, I joined the community earlier this year. There are several activities within the community and resourceful channels that will keep one coming back for more. The #resourceschannel is my go-to where I discover and bookmark materials for later use. The community is to you what you make of it. I encourage fellow members to maximize their time on the workspace. See it as a tool and use it to enhance your learning. Through the community, I was able to meet an accountability partner with whom I exchange learning progress. It is easier when you have a goal, for instance, if you are interested and actively learning backend engineering, you will gravitate towards the backend inclined resources like the peer-learning in the backend channel.

I found the application for DevCareerXProgate scholarship on Twitter. I am one of the beneficiaries of Cohort 3 which ended in August. The scholarship came when I needed it just like I pointed out earlier. Upon acceptance, I was added to a closed channel alongside hundreds of beneficiaries. Seeing other people like me navigating this tech thing, and sharing their progress using the #90daysofcode brought out a committed part of me I didn’t even realize I had. Through tweets bearing the hashtag or messages on Slack, I discovered other people on the same path, some of them are concerned enough to follow and ask you for updates.

What does a typical day look like?

It starts with a devotion followed by morning chores, then errands where there are which I wrap up quickly leaving me enough time to sit with whichever platform I am enrolled on for the day. My day involves turning in assignments or working on a project. I made it a point of duty to engage at least one of the platforms I am enrolled in daily. The availability of power supply is also a determinant. When you see the light on, it is a call to put everything else on hold and prioritize the things that require electricity to achieve.

I don’t have a fixed schedule at this point but when I log on to anyone of the platforms, I do something reasonable enough to fill up the progress meter for that day. On Progate for instance, there is a fulfillment meter that visibly displays your progress. Every completed task, modules unlocked, and exercises count. The same logic is applied to Genesys Upskill, Web3Ladies, Scrimba, ZuriTeam — four other platforms I am enrolled on.

Progate, Genesys Upskill, Web3Ladies, Scrimba, ZuriTeam… only you?

Hahaha. I didn’t sign up on all 5 in a single day and I am at different stages on each one. I am also consistent with learning Frontend across all these platforms. My goal is to get as much as I can in frontend before hopping from one framework/language to another. I indicated an interest in ZuriTeam internship after I was enrolled on Progate and I got in. Genesys Upskill came along the line and I participated as one of the team leads. With my DevCareerXProgate foundation, I easily navigate concepts I now know on the other platforms. Getting into tech is an endless thread of learning and I am determined to see it through. With the completion of my 3-month run on Progate and a certificate, I applied for a scholarship on Scrimba as a way of continuity. At the point of putting this essay together, I have completed my engagement with Progate, Genesys Upskill and ZuriTeam leaving only Scrimba and Web3Ladies where I only just started.

By year end, I am positive I will have a portfolio I can use to apply for an entry-level role. I am aware there will be plenty of rejections but I will keep putting myself out there.

What is your motivation?

I draw inspiration from people in my circle who are on a similar path. Their determination to succeed against all odds is admirable. I know it is not easy but certainly doable. I know if I keep at it, with the right amount of work, time and data, something will most definitely come out of it.

A productivity hack

In simple terms, dead the noise around and focus on your work. Secondly, set realizable goals. As a way of cheering myself when I reach a milestone, I buy myself something nice.

How do you unwind

I watch Netflix and read African-authored books.

Discover Favour-codes in the community, GitHub, and say hello on Twitter

The Community Spotlight is a monthly series for members DevCareer community. Mention someone you would like to read about in the comment session here. Leggo!

DevCareer is a non-profit organization that provides relevant support to aspiring tech talents through the following programs:

  1. #Laptops4Developers: A yearly 3-month long program to support aspiring developers and designers on their journey to become world-class with laptops, courses, and mentorships.
  2. A DevCareer community on Slack. Use this link to join over 13000 tech enthusiasts where bonds are formed, knowledge exchanged and stories shared.
  3. A DevCareerXProgate scholarship that gives 5000 community members access to pro-plan on Progate to learn any course of choice, exclusive to community members. Application is open all through the year use this link to apply.

--

--