How to start a Product Design career

pick a course at a time and see it to the end

Ibukunoluwa Samuel
devcareers
5 min readMay 12, 2022

--

Boluwatife Akinlabi
Boluwatife Akinlabi

The #Laptops4Developers campaign is made up of the unison of mentors and interns (mentees) in an all-supportive learning environment. We profiled some of the mentors from the previous cohort to get a peep into their tech journey, their mentorship experience, and what working in their respective fields is all about. Meet Boluwatife Akinlabi, a computer science graduate who says his decision to become a product designer was in no way influenced by his course of study. Not surprising, tech is known as one of the fields with ease of entry given the right amount of determination and discipline.

What was it like to study Computer science at a Nigerian university?

Before I got into the University, I have always known I wanted to solve a problem, the puzzle then was how I was going to achieve it. I had a list of courses I wanted to study one of which was medicine but that quickly faded away after I discovered I couldn’t stand a blood sight. I eventually enrolled as a Computer Science student to become a software engineer. Nigerian University system happened and I became one of many who had to endure lecturers who come in to dump hundreds of pages of downloaded materials on you without much of a guide.

How did you get into product design?

While a student at the university, I learned programming on an old laptop but I narrowed it down to mobile development using java and flutter along the line. Product design came into the picture after a webinar I organized to explore ways the duo — developers and designers, can collaborate better. After the webinar, I interacted with designers and curiosity drove me to try product design. Two months in and I hadn’t gone back to Flutter. Let’s say I wasn’t getting the amount of fulfilment I thought I wanted so I gave product design a shot, which didn’t seem like a bad idea. I thought it would be cool to design and develop your product yourself.

When I was much younger, this guy back then would allow us (my brother and I) to play with CorelDRAW on his laptop, of course, we didn’t know what it was. While my brother(now a brand designer) kept at it, I dismissed it mostly because I was fixed on being an engineer at the time. That and my father buying a laptop were my first exposure to technology.

What was your mentorship experience like?

I mentored alongside an existing mentor in cohort 2 as a mobile developer and that was my first officially structured mentorship. My favourite part was the avenue to reach out to people who are interested in what I had to say and make use of the knowledge shared. During the Bootcamp, I would look forward to the community hangout where mentors and mentees gathered to present their work and just hear one another out.

In addition, DevCareer influenced me to give resources out, buy courses, and data for people in the little way I can.

If you have been learning a tech field on your own and would like to mix that with guided mentorship, structured course content, hub subscription, and a free laptop courtesy of DevCareer and its amazing sponsors, use this link to apply.

What does a typical workday look like?

A typical workday starts with waking up (duh) and cleaning up. The rest of the day comprises stand-up meetings, continuing an unfinished task when there is one, communicating with colleagues, brainstorming sessions, engaging developers to explain a flow, etc. Each day is different from the last but majorly; collaboration, working and slacking.

What do you recommend for a product design newbie?

This is what I recommend whenever this question comes up:

1. You need a sustainable amount of interest to learn.

2. Have a goal for getting into tech, this will come in handy on those days when you are in doubt. Your goal for getting into tech and your personality will help you pick a major.

3. While starting out, research the different aspects of tech and what it entails.

4. For UI/UX, I recommend product schools, take courses on Udemy and YouTube. Beware of information overload, don’t consume too much to avoid being overwhelmed. Pick one at a time and see it to the end.

How were you able to juggle volunteering and your current job?

During cohort 2, I was freelancing at the time. I wasn’t alone so I had all the help I needed. I liked that the bootcamp wasn’t based solely on exchanging messages. A mentor can easily jump on a call with a mentee to explain a concept clearer.

If you were not doing product design, what else would have been in the picture and how do you unwind?

Maybe I will be in the movie industry, not as an actor but doing something in the back scene like a director or something. To unwind, I watch movies and you can catch me on Twitter or try to regain my lost reading culture.

I am currently watching Friends. I just finished reading the Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck by Mark Manson and Refactoring UI by Adam Wathan. Next on my list are: James Clear’s Atomic Habit and The Design of Everyday Things — Don Norman.

How did Tech change your life?

Looking back now, I can give more, I can afford a functional workstation without asking for help. I was able to achieve self-sufficiency and financial independence.

DevCareer runs a number of programs with the goal of supporting tech talents such as:

  1. #Laptops4Developers: A yearly 3-month long program to support aspiring developers and designers on their journey to become word-class with laptops, courses, and mentorships.
  2. A DevCareer community on Slack. Use this link to join over 10000 tech enthusiasts who support one another.
  3. A DevCareerXProgate scholarship that gives 5000 community members access to pro-plan on Progate to learn any course of choice, exclusive to community members.

--

--