#Laptops4Developers FAQs

Ibukunoluwa Samuel
devcareers
Published in
5 min readMay 28, 2022

If you took the recently deployed aptitude test for cohort 3 of #Laptops4Developers, here are some questions collated from the community and answers to them.

What is next after the aptitude test that I took?

The selection process for #Laptops4Developers is in three stages. The aptitude test you just took is one of them. The next stage is the track-specific assessment. After that is going to be a physical interview in all the states where #Laptops4Developers is present.

I am a product designer, why am I seeing coding questions?

The aptitude test majorly borders on the use of English and mathematics. There are only a few basic coding questions in it and they are not enough to exclude anyone.

I could not view my score after submission, what do I do? I didn’t see my score, how do I know whether I qualified or not. I don’t know if I submitted or not because my laptop went off

If you submitted your responses successfully i.e you clicked the “submit” button but didn’t see your score, be rest assured we received your response.

On the other hand, if you couldn’t click the “submit” button, because you closed the tab or the form expired, unfortunately, we won’t receive your response.

How can I get to see my score? I did the assessment in the night and submitted, don’t think I saw a score.

While we can’t check individual scores one after the other and report back at this time, we know that all submitted scores have been stored.

I haven’t received my test mail.

Kindly note that the test was sent to people who applied successfully when the link went live. However, we understand that a lot of people joined the community without knowledge of the application for cohort 3 of #Laptops4Developers. The application for #Laptops4Developers is closed but there are other programs by DevCareer and community members will be the first to know when they are announced.

If you applied successfully and didn’t get the test, please reply this thread on slack with your email to enable us to troubleshoot and we would get back to you.

I made a mistake in my email in my test, can I amend it?

No. you/we can’t edit your response after submission.

If one proceeds to the next stage, will the result of this stage still be added to the overall assessments?

No. The result of the aptitude test is a qualifier for the next stage. To advance to the next stage, you need to make the cut-off mark. Your score in each stage will solely determine if you will get to the next stage.

What is the cut-off mark?

The cut-off mark is determined by DevCareer. There are several factors we consider to arrive at the mark but most importantly is inclusion.

I need someone to explain what the program is about. I took the test but I don’t know what the program is all about.

The aptitude test is for the #Laptops4Developers program, an initiative of DevCareer. The program is a three-month bootcamp that gives laptops, courses, mentorship, and hub subscription to newbies in the field of frontend, backend, cloud, and product design.

I just joined the channel, how can I take the test.

If you just joined the community, welcome. The aptitude test was sent to people who registered when the link went live. Application is closed for #Laptops4Developers however, the DevCareer community is filled with opportunities, there are other programs and giveaways announced at intervals to make your learning journey in tech easy.

Please is the bootcamp only for coders because the questions are asking about JavaScript?

The bootcamp is not only for coders. Product designers are included and the most important thing is to make the cut-off mark and move to the next stage where the assessment is track-specific.

The laptop4developers cohort is it physical? If yes where will it be and for how long?

The learning itself is virtual however, the laptops are stationed at our partner hubs equipped with internet access and electricity. During the bootcamp, you will report daily to the hub, meet fellow interns and learn together. After the 3month bootcamp, you are free to take the laptop forever.

While attempting the test I had network issues, I tried resuming back to it only to say the test has been taken. How do I go about it?

If you didn’t click the “submit” button due to network, or other reasons, unfortunately, we cannot account for your score.

When will I receive the 2nd assessment?

The next assessment will reflect each individual course of choice. We would send you questions relating to the tech field you indicated in the application you submitted. This will be dispatched once the aptitude test is over.

What should I expect after the track-based assessment?

The track based assessment will lead to the physical interview which will be held in all locations where DevCareer is present. Nigeria(Lagos,Abuja,Abeokuta,Ibadanand Porthacourt), Zambia(Lusaka), Ghana(Accra), Rwanda(Kigali), Kenya(Mombasa).

How do I know I qualify for the next stage?

The cut-off mark is determined by the selection team at DevCareer. There are several factors we consider to arrive at the mark but most importantly is inclusion. We would write to you if you make the cut.

Can I change my track?

No, you can not change the track you applied for.

DevCareer is a non-profit organization that seeks to provide relevant support to aspiring tech talents. This is achieved under the following programs deployed by DevCareer.

  1. #Laptops4Developers: A yearly 3-month long program to support aspiring developers and designers on their journey to become word-class with laptops, courses, and mentorships.
  2. A DevCareer community on Slack. Use this link to join over 10000 tech enthusiasts who support one another.
  3. A DevCareerXProgate scholarship that gives 5000 community members access to pro-plan on Progate to learn any course of choice, exclusive to community members.

If you have got additional questions about applying for #Laptops4Developers, you can also check here. We would update this post with even more QnA.

--

--