How Did I Become a Leader from a Reader with DSC?

Hasenat Eqbali
Google Developer Student Clubs
6 min readJul 4, 2020

Hello to all passionate leaders and developers around the world who are trying to learn new things from others.
I’m Hasenat Eqbali, talking to you from Balkh University, Mazar-e-Sharif Afghanistan, and I am going to share with you my story of being a DSC Lead!

When I finished school and was preparing for the entrance exam to go to college, my mother wanted me to study law and become a lawyer. My father wanted me to study administration and public policy and work for organizations. I, myself, would love to spend four years of university learning my mother tongue and doing a major in Dari literature to become a writer, write books, and be a fan of reading books. Despite all of this, I succeeded in Computer Science and now I am a junior.

In the left image, I’m with my school friends. and the right side shows me with my university friends

The first days of university were not very exciting. It was like a normal day. I didn’t hate computer science. But I didn’t like it either. Zero and one were not as exciting to me as my novel books. The first semester, because everything was new, I paid a little attention so that I might be able to become Marissa Mayer of my era. But later on, everything changed.

On the one hand, I was more involved in book clubs than I was in technology programs. Instead of reading Java, I read novels from night to morning, and sometimes I slept in the classroom because of the tiredness and lack of sleep. Instead of exchanging codes, I exchanged books. Yet with the help of my friends, we organized book clubs and spent hours discussing and commenting on different kinds of books. We didn’t get tired. And often I escaped some courses.

Book Clubs

On the other hand, I was worried about what I would do in the end. A computer science graduate who knows nothing? Or, even, will I graduate? Which part of CS is good? Network? Programming? Web Development? Information technology? Who will help an unmotivated student like me? And thousands of questions that I could be sure would have been so depressing if I had been so persistent, and maybe I wouldn’t have continued my education. I was not a lazy student. I just had no motivation on Computer Science. And I felt I had better be a writer than a coder and that feeling made me hate more the university day by day. When I was wondering what to do and what steps should I take first to be a good computer scientist that the DSC came into my life.
Today everything has changed. Most of the students ask me for help before they ask their professors. And I enjoyed when I guide other students and solved their problems. I think it is the best feeling I ever have.

Students working with Google Cloud Platforms.

I, from Balkh University, and three other students from Aria, Kabul, and Kardan universities were the first students to be selected as DSC leaders in Afghanistan. At that time, there was only one GDG Chapter in Kabul (GDG-Kabul) from Google communities, and it was very new for everyone, especially for me, who was neither aware of technological communities nor of such programs.

We started our work by choosing one of our professors as Faculty Advisor. We held an Info session, formed a Core team, and got ready for the first event. We started preparing with an eight-member team.
We, in DSC Balkh University, have held 8 different events. Three events were in-person and 5 others were held online live streams on our youtube channel due to Covid-19 pandemic (webinars).

1. DSC Info Session
2. Cloud Study Jam
3. Flutter Interact Code lab
4. Solution Challenge Week
5. DSC Afghanistan Leads Summit
6. How to Build a Solution App using Flutter?
7. Kick Start Your Career as a Software Developer with DSC
8. Learn GitHub in One Hour.

DSC Balkh University’ Cloud Study Jam and FLutter Interact Codelab events.

All of these events were more well-welcomed than we expected. We paved the way for students who were indecisive and did not know what to do with their lessons and their course’s selection. The reason I was discouraged from college at the time was the lack of motivation and inspiration. When I was given the responsibility of DSC, the first decision I made with myself was that I shouldn’t let anyone else to go my way. And it went as I wanted. From the very first days, I saw how the students were trying to get to know each other. Form multi-person groups and study and work together for hours. After completing one session they became more eager and passionate about our next sessions. They helped, laughed, and solved each of their problems and that was very promising.

The interest was growing. My main focus was on girls. Because most of them did not dare to come and talk in the crowds, make new friends. But we managed to reverse this trend to a great extent. We have already formed several groups of girls so that everyone can find their teammates according to their interests. And that was what I wanted, intimate gathering with a purpose.

Besides DSC, I became one of GDG Balkh Co-Organizers, and also I had the privilege to speak in GDG-Balkh and IWD20 of WTM Balkh about Empowerment of Women. After all, I wrote a blog post about Afghan girls in technology that is available on medium. That’s all the benefits of being with communities and that was how I changed from a reader to a leader.

GDG Balkh’ Opening Ceremony

One of the benefits of being in communities is that communications are built automatically. Unconsciously, you have made new friends. You became a savior.
I am very hopeful for the future. I know our people will not stop. Our youth will raise their voices in the name of Afghanistan in any way they can on this planet. We shine to make sunny days possible for our people. We are not backward.
Lots of time I quote Anna Frank’s words that “I don’t want to be a movie star I want to be a writer”, but in my case, I want to be a helpful person that can do anything given her limitations and risks.

I’m glad I had a very good and rewarding year. And I am thankful to those who did not leave me alone on this journey and supported me; from the DSC global team at Google especially dear Erica Hanson, to my advisors, professors, my teammates, and friends. From all the people who accompanied me directly and indirectly. Without them, it would be very difficult for me to succeed.
I would like to express my deepest gratitude to Merve Isler for her endless cooperation. She is my big supporter. Much appreciated for always helping me, encouraging me and inspiring me. Thank you so much for making these situations possible for me. Glad to know her and all of the people whom I met through my journey.

Finally, small drops of the water make Great Oceans and the small grains of sand make beautiful beaches. Short moments may seem worthless, but they make life worth living. So as much as you can, take advantage of the opportunities that come to your way. Although small. Although short. :)

--

--

Hasenat Eqbali
Google Developer Student Clubs

Some of the best days of your life haven’t happened yet. 🌸