Day 11

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 11, 2017

I’ve never been prouder of my daughter. She knows the phrase “heat ray” and how to accurately use it in a sentence. While actively refusing the go to bed, she insisted on playing with her toy rocket and wooden aliens. I had to stop working for a moment and just listen to her tell her story of naughty aliens use their heat ray on the resident astronauts. While I’m impressed, I’m also scared. I’ve never taught her that word — I honestly don’t know where she’s learnt it.

I am forced awake (early) this morning and find myself in an unusual shape. Attempting to stretch out, I discover the reason. Stormy has decided to sleep at the foot of the bed and yet still continues to take up the majority of the space. I’ve seen photo’s of beds that are the size of whole bedrooms. We’re getting one of those next time. Though I’m sure Stormy will still find a way to push me out of bed. Upon waking Stormy and confronting her with her choice of sleeping arrangement her response is; “I’m like a cat — only I don’t play with my mummy’s toes”. I can’t be annoyed with her after that.

Before long it’s time to get her off to school. I manage to get her dressed in her batman top and purple shorts. At some point I’m going to have to figure out colour matching, but for now she’s dressed and that’s the important thing.

Stormy has realised that I’m a sucker for “logical” explanations. Using, what I can only describe as n-space logic theory, she convinces me to take her to ToastBox for breakfast after watching her morning cartoons. We eat Toast™.

Before long the day is over and I’m back at home. Stormy decides to eat two dinners. Not because she’s hungry, but because she can’t decide what to eat. She eat’s a bowl of spaghetti bolognese and a bowl of chicken soup. I think she’s making up for not eating at all for the last week. I stop myself from Googling whether 4yo’s can have an eating disorder.

By 7pm, I am ready for bed. She wasn’t. By 11pm she’s in bed and asleep. I’m not.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 10) | Tomorrow (Day 12) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.