Day 13

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 12, 2017

Stormy has yet to figure out cause and effect. The fact that, if she refuses to go to bed, she’ll also be tired in the morning. Although perhaps I do not give her enough credit — she may understand exactly what she is doing. Half an hour late, but she’s finally out of bed. A quick breakfast and she’s off to the bus for school. This is actually one of my favourite times of the day — and not for the reason you think. Shame on you. There’s a moment as I lift her onto the school bus and she turns to me, smiles, and says “huggy”. That moment her small arms wrap around my neck is amazing. Sometime strangling, but always amazing.

Before long, I’m at work and acting like an adult again. However, even at work I can’t control everything. The torrential rain returns and taxi’s are few and far between. I end up being an hour late to get home. I expect to have to deal with an upset little girl, but instead I am greeted with an enthusiastic “Daddy!”. It’s a pleasant surprise and a great start to the evening.

Friday’s are a magical day for Stormy. It’s movie night. We can stay up late and I don’t have to fight the nightly bedtime battle. Somehow it even feels a little naughty. Right at this moment I have a small girl, playing with her toy digger, on the floor behind me. On that bright note, it’s bedtime for all of us.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 12) | Tomorrow (Day 14) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.