Day 157 or “The Day Stormy Gets Spots”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJun 27, 2017

It’s Stormy’s last day of school holidays so I let her sleep in. At about 7:30 I come in and wake her up. She wraps her little arms around my neck and hugs me all the way to the sofa. I’m not sure if she wanted a hug or a lift. And it doesn’t matter to me.

Stormy is a little sad that I’m flying out to the US for the rest of the week tomorrow morning. However that is overcome with the joy that her mother arriving on Friday. I leave for work and Stormy leaves for her play-date. They’re going to the Kids Biennale at the National Gallery. I’m actually not sure which of us get’s the better deal.

I return home and the house is quiet. It doesn’t last long. 5 minutes later Stormy returns from her play-date with her best-friend (and his, exhausted, mother). Her dress bunches up around her as I pick her up from the car a give her a huge hug.

Dad-sense tingling.

I put her down and ask to look at her tummy. She has red spots everywhere. Time to kick into gear; doctor’s appointment booked for 45 minutes ahead, notification to her friends mother to watch for spots, a quick dinner (chicken soup), a fresh set of clothes and into the taxi.

The doctor is a little perplexed but thinks it’s a reaction to something. Not HFM or CP. A prescription for anti-histamines and cortisone cream and the future looks good for the little one. She even get’s to go to school tomorrow.

After a post-doctor ice-cream, we return home. Stormy settles down and helps me pack. I was ready to cancel the trip but, given the benign nature of the spots, I’m not needed here.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 156) | Tomorrow (Day 168) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.