Day 51

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 13, 2017

Last night went badly. Stormy didn’t fall asleep until nearly midnight. She kept kicking me in the ribs and saying things like “is it morning yet” and “it’s so boring”. In hindsight, I’m mostly to blame for this. She’d been such a good girl that I gave her a little Coke with dinner last night. While I was distracted tidying up, she managed to get hold of the rest of the bottle and drink that. Now comes the fun of waking her up after that crash.

Yep, that went as well as could be expected. It takes me nearly 45 minutes to get her royal grumpiness her to wake up. And even then she immediately goes to lay down on the sofa. Regardless, we made the school bus and even eat breakfast. So all’s well…

By the time I return home, grumpy is replaced by sweet. I remember why I love being a father.

We spend a little time before dinner making a crown out of a paper plate and glitter glue. She takes the time to talk to me about how she will be good tonight and go to bed on time. Dinner begins as usual, although she does point at my Coke and ask if she can have some. I remind her that I’ve banned her from drinking Coke for at least a year. To my surprise, she accepts this. She does, however, point out that “you need to drink it before I do”. I respect this level of honesty.

The night finishes with a new milestone for Stormy. She has her first shower all by herself. She doesn’t want daddy (except to test the water temperature) and manages to wash herself and her hair without any help. She’s excited and spends the next 30 minutes jumping around with a towel. I’m not sure whether it’s the jumping or the towel that gets her dry in the end.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 50) | Tomorrow (Day 52) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.