Day 81

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readApr 12, 2017

It’s the last day of school before the Easter break and Stormy is excited to go to school. She jumps out of bed and is dressed in record time. Although to think about it, the fact that her TV ban just expired may also have something to do with it. For the next 30 minutes she’s cuddled up on the sofa watching YouTube and “hugging” the cat. Hugging is a generous word. Any other animal would break the way she bends that cat.

The rest of the day proceeds as usual. After dinner Stormy asks me to make bath time fun. That’s easier than making brushing teeth fun. We get some bubbles going and give one of her plushy toys a bath as well. After the bath it’s time for her usual Milo and story. Today it’s “Weasels” — she takes great enjoyment in hearing about animals plotting world domination. She’s my daughter.

While she is meant to be sleeping, Stormy decides to go all crafty. I’m sitting at my computer when she runs past. Returning a second later, she thrusts a stack of tissues at me. “Here. I don’t need these” as she runs past with the now empty tissue box. A few seconds later she runs back and grabs the scissors and blu-tac. I remind her not to run with scissors, but she’s back in her room before I can even finish the sentence.

She emerges 20 minutes later and proudly shows me “Elsa’s Castle”. It’s really cute. With Elsa stickers, string, ribbon, a hand-written sign and pile of small toys “sleeping” inside.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 80) | Tomorrow (Day 82) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.