“All Good Things”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readSep 4, 2017

And so it ends. With her mother’s arrival, at a little past midnight, the present becomes the past and this chapter of my life draws to a close. Looking back over the months that have passed since the 21st of January, I have seen Stormy develop into the little lady that she is today.

I’ve watched her learn to read, push herself to be brave (even if she scares me sometimes), and master the art of negotiation. She’s still a little monster at times. Her behaviour is, rightfully, that of a 5-year-old. But I can now ask her what her punishment should be and she’ll honestly respond. In some small part, I’m satisfied with the role that I’ve played. Introducing Lego, getting her interested in space, and pushing her to explore beyond the pink, girly, things that society foists on her.

I always tried to find new ways to fill her days with learning and fun. And while there were days I wish I had taken a different path, there were many more days that made my heart ache with love and pride.

And she is her own person no matter what I do. She’ll always be the little girl that hides behind my legs when meeting anyone (of any age) for the first time. And then, 5 minutes later, opening up and being a bouncy, hyperactive, little rocket. She’ll always be a friend to all animals. She’ll always be a speed demon; “faster daddy”, “higher daddy”. She’ll always be my “Little Miss”.

I am incredibly proud of my little Stormageddon.

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.