National Embarrassing Medical Moments Month

The Great Inflatable Tampon Incident of 2011

There’s humor everywhere…even in bloody medical emergencies.

John Peck
Doctor Funny
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2022

--

Photo by Natracare on Unsplash

In honor of “National Embarrassing Medical Moments Month,” at Doctor Funny, I’ve decided to share the tale of the night I thought I was going to die.

Warning: Not for the particularly squeamish. There’s going to be lots of blood imagery here.

I have a history of bad nosebleeds. But one night, I lost more blood than I knew a human body could carry.

Seriously, I made Carrie look anemic.

I had been sick for a few days before this harrowing event. Finals were the next week, so my blood pressure was a bit high. I was feverish and extremely congested, so I was taking both Sudafed and Advil — a horrible combination. The Sudafed dried me out to the point that my nose started bleeding and the Advil made it damn near impossible for clots to form. The result:

I created a red sea that not even Moses could split.

Thankfully, I came home from college to see my parents that weekend. My second nosebleed of the week began, so I went to the bathroom and got some tissues. It started out pretty standard…

--

--

John Peck
Doctor Funny

Humor, fiction, and screenwriter. Animation producer. I finally found the secret to writing. It’s buying more notebooks, right?