Which Domain Registrars Accept Bitcoin in 2024?

Adrian Mucci
Domain Digest
Published in
2 min readJul 4, 2024
Bitcoin

Not many companies accept cryptocurrency payments, but some domain registrars have adopted this payment method.

I’ve paid for some of my domain purchases using Bitcoin at different places and it has mostly gone smoothly.

My favorite domain registrars that accept Bitcoin payments are Namecheap and Spaceship. You can’t directly pay with Bitcoin for your order but you can fund your account using Bitcoin and then use the account funds to pay for your order.

It usually takes a few minutes for the Bitcoin payment to be recognized, and then it takes some more time (sometimes up to an hour) for the payment to be confirmed and credited to your account.

Once you hit the pay button, you’ll be asked to send the payment to a given Bitcoin address and it usually gives you 15 minutes to complete the payment. Make sure to account for any fees deducted by your wallet provider.

One time my Bitcoin payment took too long to be sent (delay from my wallet) and the 15 minute timer had passed. The payment was later refunded to my wallet but I did lose some fees on it. Just make sure to send the payment as soon as the timer starts. If more than five minutes have passed and you still haven’t initiated the payment, it’s better to let the session expire and try again.

A couple other companies that allow you to pay with Bitcoin for domain registration are Dynadot and NameSilo. I’ve had a good experience with both, although I haven’t made any crypto payments to these two registrars.

Recommended read: Best Domain Registrars with Email & Privacy

--

--

Adrian Mucci
Domain Digest

Some dude who likes food and select music for the mood. I also build websites and some other random stuff on the web.