Characters First

Rachael Gatling
Drafty
Published in
4 min readMar 21, 2017
Photo credit

As I write my novel, I think a lot about what I like to read. What makes a story engaging? Why do I stay up half the night reading one book and never get past chapter one in another? What is it about those page turners and, more importantly, how do I make my story that captivating?

My editor/husband J and I have an ideas file. A favorite topic of conversation in our house is, “Wouldn’t this make a great story?” and we write down every idea in great detail. We brainstorm over cups of coffee on the weekends or while watching tv in the evening. We have some phenomenal ideas.

But very few of my favorite stories are based on clever ideas, and even if there is a crafty premise at play, it certainly won’t be enough to keep me reading.

Great characters keep me.

For a story to be compelling it has to have at least one sympathetic character, someone who I’m rooting for the whole way, someone I care about, someone I’d want to be friends with, someone who matters.

With this in mind, my characters are front and center in my new book. I start with an in depth character sketch for each one, then serious thought about their motivation, struggle, and transformation. If you can’t empathize with them, if you can’t imagine yourself dealing with their decisions, if I can’t evoke an emotional response from you, my reader, then it’s pointless.

When I think about my favorite fictional characters and why I liked them, I was struck by the fact that many of them are animals. I suppose that’s because animals are inherently trustworthy. They have no ulterior motive, they are as innocent and guileless they come.

Charlotte’s Web. I saw Charlotte as the perfect mother, teacher, and guide. Don’t get me wrong, my mom is awesome, but in the world of children’s fiction, where the characters often embody an ideal, I used to wish that this spider had been, if not my mom, then maybe a benevolent older sister.

Charlotte was pragmatic, a realist, but she had a big heart. She not only knew what had to get done, but she also knew how to get it done. For Wilbur’s sake, as well as for the sake of her babies, I cheered Charlotte on to the finish line. Who doesn’t want a true friend like Charlotte?

Black Beauty. If you’ve read any of my past posts you know I’m a horse person. My dream as a child was to own a horse. More specifically, it was to be stranded on a deserted island with a horse, where we’d become best friends and live out our days in peaceful rides along the shoreline (possibly influenced by watching the movie The Black Stallion 45 times). Beauty was an attractive character because he was sweet and kind and most of all, he suffered.

We need to see our characters struggle, and to believe their goals are worthy. We want to watch them overcome the odds in the end, but we also have to feel they deserve to be victorious. Beauty wanted kindness and gentle treatment in a world where horses were seen more as machines than living creatures. Beauty’s goal was worthy, and when he got his wish, I was overcome with emotion.

Now that I’m a few chapters into my story, I’ve started to ask my characters questions. Based on their answers, I know if they’re staying true to themselves or if they’re headed for the wrong side of the tracks. This is important to me, because they’re the heart of my story. I want you to be in my character’s corner, not wishing for their untimely death.

With these thoughts in mind, I asked my main character, “Why do people like you so much?”

Her response was, “Do they really? Wow. Well, I guess because I’m honest, but I tell the truth with kindness.”

(good so far)

“Are you fun at a party?”

“What kind of party? Never mind, it doesn’t matter, I don’t really go to parties at all.”

(thumbs up)

“What’s your boyfriend like?”

“Hmm. Since I don’t have a boyfriend right now, I could tell you about my dream boyfriend. Maybe not though, it would just sound weird.”

“No, go ahead and tell me about your dream boyfriend.”

“Wait, you already know about him, right? You’re writing him aren’t you?”

“Sure, but…”

“Whew! Don’t scare me like that, he’s supposed to show up somewhere around chapter eight.”

“He’s showing up, I promise. His name is C…”

“Stop! Sorry, I just…don’t ruin the surprise for me.”

“Oh, ok, sure. So, do you have any pets?”

“Alright, go ahead and tell me his name. You can learn a lot about someone by their name.”

“His name is Callum.”

“Callum? Do people call him Cal?”

“No.”

“Geez, I just have all these questions running through my head now. Is he tall? What does he do for a living? Is he funny? He has to be funny. Is he still friends with his ex?”

“Let’s go back to you being surprised about him.”

“He’s not too good looking right? I mean, nothing against really good looking people, but, please don’t make him, well, you know, just put him somewhere in my comfort zone.”

“And we’re done.”

I think she’s on track.

If you like what you’ve read, please recommend so others can see it.

Last week on DraftyWe’re going to need more wine

Next week — Is it weird I like reading my own stories?

--

--

Rachael Gatling
Drafty
Editor for

Reader, Listener, Writer, Dreamer. Writing about writing.