Gazivode Lake

Vanja Nedić
Eastern Chronicles
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2015

--

In the 1970s more than 600 households, 2 churches, 4 cemeteries, and the famous Jelena Anžujska Palace from the Nemanjić Period were flooded. But don’t worry — this was planned.

River Ibar was reconstructed and a 107-meter-high clay dam was build. The result: Gazivode Lake.

Gazivode Lake on map

Surrounded by the Mokra Gora Mountain and its numerous peaks, the lake strives to be a perfect oasis offering extraordinary experiences. I unexpectedly visited this 24-km-long artificial lake last year and was astonished by its beauty!

When I arrived in the place where I was supposed to camp for 7 days, clouds had overtaken the sky and it was pouring rain. I thought to myself: ‘This place is horrible, I want to go home!’ I stayed, mainly because there was no bus to take me home. But when I woke up the next morning and opened the door, I was struck with a breathtaking view.

The lake lay still in front of me, sun rays blooming from the east and bouncing off the water’s surface, birds sang, and green mountain hills stood in the back. I was speechless (and, trust me, this doesn’t happen often). A smile appeared on my face and stayed there until it was time to go home. I spend my days soaking up the beauty of this magnificent place. I enjoyed myself sunbathing, swimming, kayaking, and boat riding. Oh, the boat rides!

I grew up on the river so I have a thing for boat rides. Every time someone even mentioned going on a boat to do some errands I would already safely nested in the middle of the boat! Yes, I was impossible to get rid of. Luckily, the only thing more amazing than the lake itself are the locals living in the surrounding area. Friendly, kind, willing to help, and, most important, easy-going is how I would describe everyone I met.

The fact that the lake is in a disputed area makes it hard for any kind of modern-day industries to show up and pollute it. This is why the nature is so well preserved, and local organisations are working hard to keep it that way. Having the best combination of lake and mountain, there are so many activities that can be arranged like hiking, fishing, tandem flights, and scuba diving. I want to try them all and can’t wait for my next visit to this heaven on Earth!

P.S. I already asked about how much a summer house near the lake costs. Not much :)

Photo credit: Miroslav C. Lazarevic

If you’ve enjoyed this article, please consider recommending/sharing it.

Our latest articles: Dunafoldvar Town, Brač Island, Zalipie, the Polish painted village, Siofok Water Tower: A Unique Futuristic Experience.

Follow Eastern Chronicles on Medium, Facebook, and Instagram.

Dunafoldvar Town

Small and quiet, but with loud and interesting stories to tell.

--

--