The December Questions 2017

The second annual post where I ask myself questions about the year gone by.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
5 min readDec 31, 2017

--

This is my second annual December Questions, inspired by Abby Norman’s own yearly questionnaire. You can read 2016’s post here.

The December Questions is a set of 20 questions aimed at helping me be as open and as honest with myself about what I’m doing and where I’m going. Almost like a sort of publicly available self-reflection.

Without further ado — and because I’m finishing this off on New Year’s Eve — let’s get started.

1. How do you currently feel?

2016: Mentally exhausted and physically unfit. But excited for what 2017 could bring.

2017: Very anxious for my flight to San Diego tomorrow. Which is odd, because I’ve been to enough places not to feel anxious about flying.

2. What is your idea of perfect happiness?

2016: Jen and I both working for ourselves and living comfortably. In a decent sized house. Somewhere warm. With a dog.

2017: Those hours after getting up early on a Sunday morning, when there’s plenty of time to sit and drink a coffee without a care in the world.

3. What has pissed you off the most this year?

2016: The lack of loyalty and trustworthiness some people close to me have shown.

2017: The Manchester Arena bombing in May.

4. What has made you the happiest this year?

2016: Getting back behind the camera (even if it was only an iPhone 6S) and creating a film of my Amsterdam trip.

2017: Deciding not to eat meat ever again. The Manchester One Love concert. And also discovering how goddamn tasty Oatly oat milk is.

This will never again be bacon to me.

5. How do you let go of stress?

2016: Playing football. Running. Getting outside with Jen.

2017: Getting away from usual routines and familiar environments for a few days.

6. Where do you most want to be right now?

2016: In the gym. I’m not fit.

2017: Watching Netflix in bed with Jen after dragging the mattress from the bedroom to the living room.

7. Where do you think you’ll be in a year’s time?

2016: I’m not sure exactly where I’ll be, but I have a feeling it won’t be Manchester.

2017: If 2017 has taught me anything, it’s that I should leave this question unanswered and just see where life takes me (and Jen).

8. What is your number one goal for next year?

2016: To concentrate my attention on the people that matter, and to avoid giving time and energy to those who don’t.

2017: To invest my money wisely.

9. What is currently standing in the way of that goal?

2016: Giving too many chances to those who don’t deserve my time and energy.

2017: Not having enough money to invest wisely.

Every time I log in to my online banking.

10. What is your proudest accomplishment from this year?

2016: How much I smashed it in July. Graduation, a job and a flat all in the space of a month. My year kind of peaked there though.

#HumbleBrag

2017: Having the courage to cut negative people out of my life.

11. What was your biggest mistake this year?

2016: This is a toss-up between breaking up with Jen and not figuring out a way to get enough freelance clients to stay self-employed. But I’m going to go with the former because Jen will read this.

2017: Not agreeing to go and watch Linkin Park with Jen in Birmingham after the Manchester show had to be cancelled. Biggest mistake I’ve made in a looooong time.

12. What lesson will you carry forward in to next year?

2016: Try to rely less on others. If I can do something myself, I should do it, even if it takes more time or energy. Relying on someone else takes everything out of your control and only gives that person an opportunity to let you down.

Simple lesson:

Do things yourself.

2017: Seize the moment. Once it’s gone you ain’t ever getting it back.

13. What is your greatest fear?

2016: Working for someone else for the rest of my life.

2017: That hate and fear wins over love and courage.

14. What do you most want to change about yourself?

2016: To be able to relax without feeling guilty. Pretty sure feeling guilty gives me headaches.

2017: To stop feeling the need to offer advice people (probably) don’t want.

15. Who are you thankful for this year?

2016: Jen for keeping me from going back to how I was a year ago. My parents for always being there. And my sister for getting me some — much needed — fresh new creps for Christmas.

2017: Jen (again) for giving me more than enough reasons to continuously improve myself. And then all of the marketing team at NCC Group, for genuinely being the nicest set of people I think I’ll ever work with.

16. What is your word of the year?

2016: Tragic.

2017: Responsibility.

17. What is your phrase of the year?

2016: Utterly tragic.

2017: Fail as an individual; succeed as a team.

18. What skill would you most like to learn?

2016: This is going to be the most boring answer I could’ve possibly given, but I want to learn how to colour grade video. My colourblindness might cause an issue there, though.

2017: Web development.

19. What do you want to experience most next year?

2016: Spending at least a month in a country I’ve never been to before.

2017: The challenge of adapting to a different way of life.

20. How do you want to be feeling exactly a year from now?

2016: Free.

2017: Warmer than I am right now. Our ‘nice’ flat is an igloo in the winter.

Thanks for reading, you wonderful people.

Here’s to 2018

--

--