Your sword awaits

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
2 min readDec 19, 2016

--

I turn to writing in my lowest moments. Whenever I’m sad or angry, more than anything, I want to write. To clear my head of all of the nonsense I perceive to be in it.

I don’t enjoy being low. I despise negativity and so when it consumes me I turn to the one thing I know will pull me out of the slump: writing.

As the ideas start to flow and the words leave my head all of that pressure and all of that anguish in my brain shrinks. Like a balloon deflating it withers and retreats. I feel like myself again. Writing is my meditation.

I’m grateful for that fact. For the fact I have an act I can rely on to pull me through tough moments or prop me up to glide over a dip rather than stumble and tumble in to it. For the fact I need nothing more than a pen and paper to lift me sky high and spark my brain in to a creative journey. A happy journey.

I am grateful for everyone who has encouraged and does encourage me to write. I’m grateful to myself for dedicating the time which has allowed me to find and develop a skill I can always, forever rely on. I’m grateful to language for simply existing.

We’re all fighting our own, individual battles. Above all else, I can rely on writing to help me through my battles. Writing is my sword, used to clear the way of negativity and keep me focused on the goals I long to achieve.

I know you’re struggling, too. You may tell yourself everything is fine. You may tell yourself everything is great. But, deep down, there are issues tangled around everything you’ve experienced. Fears and anxieties that you need to contain, side-step or ignore. You’re fighting a battle, too, and that’s okay.

But to stay successful in your efforts you require a weapon. You may not have found it yet. It may take more time to pull your excalibur from the stone. Just keep working. Keep moving. Keep doing.

Be patient. Your sword awaits.

Thanks for reading Chapter 218

Follow me on the social medias over here (@EllMorrow):

Twitter + Instagram

--

--