Got humility?

Why we need it and what it looks like

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries
1 min readOct 18, 2017

--

Empathy is hard. Really, really hard.

One reason it’s so difficult to step into someone else’s shoes and see life from their perspective is because that requires humility.

Humility to recognize the value and validity of the other person and their beliefs.
Humility to acknowledge I don’t know the full story.
Humility to admit when I was wrong in my assumptions or perceptions of the other person.
Humility to stay curious when I feel defensive.
Humility to ask questions without judgment instead of arguing how I’m right.
Humility to listen.

And humbling myself is hard. Really, really hard.

The struggle is real and really good because humility empowers us to empathize and empathy creates connection — something we all crave as humans.

--

--

Laura Tyson
Empathy Entries

Teaching courageous empathy to change my corner of the world. Passionate believer and feminist who loves people, food, and travel.