WRITING PROMPT

The Fun Christmas Challenge

10-word stories for Christmas

Tejaswini Katreddy
Everything Fun
Published in
2 min readDec 23, 2022

--

Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

Inspired by Toni Greathouse’s stories and Shereen Bingham’s stories, here are my holiday 10 word stories.

I decided to take it up a notch and wrote 10 ten-word stories instead of 5, not because I was smart, but because I wasn’t sure how many of them actually counted as stories.

Christmas and holidays are all about family, love, traditions, celebrations, Santa and of course Jesus Christ.

Yeah, I know, I mixed up everyone and everything, you will see the same themes below.

Family

Photo by CDC on Unsplash

“Name best things you have?” They asked.
“Family”, she said.

Mother sells her gold ring,
surprises kids with Christmas presents.

I have no idea why I decided to make the above story tragic.

In my defence, parents do sacrifice a lot for their kids, so it’s time to remember and thank our parents for everything they gave us.

Love

Photo by Esther Ann on Unsplash

Mary chuckled when Grandpa kissed Grandma
behind the Christmas tree.

That’s because I wanted few kisses in my story before it ended. Romance between an old couple is always adorable and cute.

She signalled,
he noticed,
she winked,
he blushed,
Turkey burned.

Times changed,
celebrations changed
love only amplified,
aging like wine.

Joy of Giving

He gave her food, clothing, shelter.
He became her Santa.

We expect presents during Christmas but I realised there is more joy in giving than receiving. Toni’s Christmas challenge tagline ‘Sharing is Caring’ inspired me to write this.

Strength and Perseverance

The fifty year old un-withered Christmas tree
symbolised her life.

For those of us who are facing hardships, this too shall pass. I hope God gives us the strength and perseverance to withstand the adversities.

Few more to celebrate the Christmas spirit

Stars shone brightly,
Angels sang melodiously,
The Lord was born.

Falling snowflakes,
sparkling stars,
children’s laughter,
this is Christmas Eve.

Scrumptious meal,
Delectable wine,
Gingerbread houses,
this is Christmas Eve.
(Not a story)

And the last one,
.
.
.
.
.

She completed the Christmas challenge,
the audience cheered and clapped.

Merry Christmas everyone :)

Thanks to Toni Greathouse and Hollie Petit, Ph.D. for encouraging me to write this.

--

--

Tejaswini Katreddy
Everything Fun

Software Engineer, *Top Reader* , Like to write about experiences or anything worth sharing | LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/in/tejaswini-katreddy-03257016/