WRITING PROMPT | BECAUSE, WHY NOT?

Valentine’s Day Challenge

20-word Valentine’s Day stories

Tejaswini Katreddy
Everything Fun

--

Photo by Asad Photo Maldives from Pexels

Inspired by Shereen Bingham’s stories and Krystal’s sweet, sour, and sexy stories, here are my 20-word Valentine’s stories. I tried 10-word stories, but it is difficult to contain love in 10 words.

Image by Freepik

"But I like her,” he whimpered.
“Don’t worry, she will come back; eat this lollipop till then,” his mom said.

For those of you who had crushes on your classmates or school teachers in kindergarten, this one is for you. Children show affection in an innocent and pure way that makes me smile.

“We spent hours discussing pop music.”
“We were inseparable.”
“Good old days,” Lily said, looking at her high school photos.

First crush or love is always sweet. All those memories come flooding back when we travel down memory lane.

I love you.
I’m not telling you this because I’m drunk.
I got drunk so that I could tell you.

Mustering up the courage to express love could be tough for anyone, especially when you don’t know how the other person feels about you.

BTW, I don’t advise anyone to become intoxicated to declare their love.

He made her jealous.
He took her time and love for granted.
So she left him.
Now he wonders why.

When things are going well, it is better to value what we have rather than repent after we lose it.

He sobbed uncontrollably because he couldn’t let go.
Now, he can’t imagine anyone else as a partner beside his wife.

For people who are going through a breakup, whatever you are feeling right now will likely fade into the background over time.

Photo by Trần Long on Pexels

“Everyday is a reason to rejoice when you have a caring, supportive spouse
and adorable children,” she informed his friend.

“Grandpa, tell me stories,” Lily pleaded.
How about tomorrow, dear?
Tonight is my 1948th date night with your grandma. Sorry.

He is a famous cricketer.
She is a renowned writer.
At home, they’re a silly couple who have petty fights.

Life becomes monotonous if it is only lovey-dovey, silly fights that add spice to our lives.

“You aren’t a football fan. Why are you here?” Nick asked.
“To cheer for my boyfriend,” Jim replied.
Nick blushed.

This story is inspired by a cute Thai BL TV series called ‘2gether.’

He is at home, while she is abroad.
Distance is merely geographical.
In their hearts, they have always been close.

These are not stories but I added them for fun.

"Love is in the air,” he said.
“Then why are you wearing a mask?” she retorted.
“Damn COVID!” he chuckled.

He looked up at her and said, “You make me feel alive.”
“You must’ve been a zombie before,” she remarked.

To those of us who are indifferent towards Valentine’s Day or have quirky partners who don’t romanticise romance, this is for you.

If you are single and have no plans for Valentine’s Day, chill for the day. Write a few short stories hinting that you are single.

What’s Valentine’s Day without romantic music? So I am sharing a couple of love songs.

This song, “Words,” originally by the “Bee Gees,” was later recorded by an Irish boy band called Boyzone. This one holds a special place in my heart. I was very young when the Boyzone version was released. However, I discovered this much later, when I was a teenager, and it has been my favourite ever since.

This is a new song in Telugu, my mother tongue and a language of India. This song was quite a hit, and coincidentally, it is from a movie called “Hit 2.” Click on the captions for translation. The video is slightly on the sexier side, so don’t click on it if you are at work or in a public place.

--

--

Tejaswini Katreddy
Everything Fun

Software Engineer, *Top Reader* , Like to write about experiences or anything worth sharing | LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/in/tejaswini-katreddy-03257016/