Quibi Quick Review Roundup: Dramas and Documentaries Offer Glimpse Into What Quibi Could Be

Reviews of some of the non-comedy shows on the new streaming service

Eric Langberg
Everything’s Interesting

--

New “bite-sized” streaming service Quibi launched today after months of advertising. The mobile-only platform offers shows broken up into 5–10 minute chunks, meant to be watched on-the-go, whenever you have a few minutes here or a few minutes there to catch up on a complete, satisfying piece of a story.

It’s an interesting concept that’s unfortunately launched at exactly the wrong time, because nobody is on-the-go right now. I don’t have 5 minutes to consume some content while I wait in line for coffee; I have 5 hours to kill so I don’t spend them sitting on my couch scrolling through the news.

Still, though, I’m giving Quibi a chance, thanks in part to its generous 90-day free trial offer. Last night, I stayed up late watching everything available for seven of its comedy shows, including flagship titles like Chrissy’s Court, Punk’, and Gayme Show. In the spirit of the service, I wrote quick reviews for those comedy shows; you can find that roundup here!

Now, here are some more Quick Reviews, for the show’s dramatic offerings! I haven’t had time to watch everything on the service — and, to be frank…

--

--

Eric Langberg
Everything’s Interesting

Interests: bad horror movies, queering mainstream films, Classic Hollywood.