10 (More) Celebrities Who Quit Drinking

These recovering alcoholics have shared their stories to inspire others.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

Bradley Cooper. Photo by David Shankbone via Wikimedia Commons. Licensed under CC BY 3.0.

I quit drinking about four and a half years ago. I love to write about my own experiences with alcoholism and recovery, but it’s also interesting to hear the stories of celebrities who have gotten sober.

Our culture is largely celebrity driven, so when a star opens up about their addiction, it can go a long way to inspiring others to get help. For the past half year, I’ve been writing about these celebrity sobriety stories. In March, I rounded up a collection of the first ten posts, and now it’s time for ten more.

For each one, you can click through to the linked story to learn even more about their addiction and recovery.

1. Bradley Cooper

Bradley Cooper quit drinking in 2004, at the relatively young age of 29. He has said that being an addict made him feel like an “outsider” stuck living in his own head. After getting sober, he was finally able to start connecting with other people. He credits his sobriety with all of the success that he has achieved since.

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.