How Sobriety Helped Dave Coulier Cope with Bob Saget’s Death

“I would’ve never been able to feel all of that if I was drinking.”

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

Bob Saget. Photo by “The Velvet Rope TV” via Wikimedia Commons. Licensed under CC BY 3.0.

Dave Coulier on Addiction and Sobriety

Two months ago, Full House star Dave Coulier surprised the world by announcing that he had been sober since January 1, 2020. He took to Instagram to share a photo of his banged-up face, with a caption saying “I was a drunk. Yes. An alcoholic. I’ve been alcohol free since January 1, 2020.”

In the photo, his face has cuts and scrapes on his nose, eyes, and forehead. He explained that it was the result of a drunken fall, writing “When I drank, I was the life of the party. I could make people laugh until they fell down. In this picture I was the one who fell down. […] I was hammered and fell, going up some stairs made of stone.”

Dave Coulier described himself as a social drunk. He would drink with his friends after golf or hockey, always sticking around until he was the last one to leave. His binges seemed fun in the moment, but they would end up leaving him feeling awful for days.

In that same Instagram post, he also described what it was like for him to get sober. Although it was difficult to quit drinking, he said that with sobriety he had undergone an amazing…

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.