How I got out of the loop of indiscipline and inconsistency in less than 30 days

Sofie Jacobs
Express Impact
Published in
3 min readJun 21, 2024

If you are not yet a paid member, read for FREE here

At some point in my life, I got tired of myself, so I just stopped trying.

Photo by Ephraim Mayrena on Unsplash

Can you relate?

I stopped trying to learn new skills

I stopped trying to learn Spanish

I even stopped trying to grow my bum

I asked myself, “Sofie, what’s the point of starting, when we all know you won’t finish”

Yes! This was the problem.

I had indulged procrastination and indiscipline for so long, I had become a natural at it.

This gets really frustrating when you know deep within that you’re meant to be more than just an average Nigerian girl who ideally should be satisfied with having a degree, having a job, having a husband and making babies.

I wanted more from life and more for myself, but I struggled with indiscipline, hence inconsistency.

We all know consistency is the bedrock for success.

Without it, you really can’t achieve anything notable because great things don’t happen overnight.

So, how did I get out?

I am going to make a cliche statement, so don’t be offended because that’s the truth;

Start small.

I can’t remember where I heard this quote from, but it changed my perspective towards discipline and consistency.

“How you do anything is how you do everything”

Most times we fail at being consistent because we start with the big, intense tasks.

You must realize that your persistent inconsistency is not a choice you make, but a pattern you have created overtime with small habits.

To undo what was done, you must follow the same pattern.

If small habits got you to this place you don’t want to be, then small habits can get you out of it.

How did I apply this?

Instead of trying to be consistent with writing everyday which is a big deal for me seeing that this is my source of income

I resorted to going for a short walk everyday by 8pm

Instead of trying to organize my business records, number of sales made, number of leads converted, which I absolutely detest doing, but I have to cause I can’t afford to pay someone else to do it yet

I resorted to organizing my room every day.

Instead of trying to not procrastinate every important activity I have coming up

I resorted to not procrastinating chores first

Now if you haven’t gotten the gist yet, let me explain

Your mind takes a single command and gives it a holistic application.

So, when you get consistent with the small stuff, it gets easier to do same with the things that actually matter.

The easiest way to build this collection of small habits that will eventually help you achieve your big goals is by creating and sticking with a routine.

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

There are a million different reasons why this is the right way to go.

Unlike what most people think, a routine is not a party pooper — the ugly guy that shows up and takes all the fun away. But this is just your perspective.

In real sense, a routine is a compass everyone should have.

It is a structure that guides you through the chaos of the day, keeping you focused and productive.

We are almost entering the 2nd half of 2024, it’s time to get serious with your goals.

If you’re ready to take your life seriously and build consistency, then join dozens of others who have benefited from this Free guide — the secret to consistency.

If this helped you, don’t forget to give me some claps, leave a comment and follow for more.

Also, subscribe to get my stories via email, so you can stay updated.

Until next time, take care❤

Other valuable reads:

--

--

Sofie Jacobs
Express Impact

Digital Creator ✨ | Showing my scars so the one still bleeding knows there's hope for healing | https://linktr.ee/sofiejacobs