2nd Place Winner | Contest | Fascinate Me Fiction

My First Lunar Ultramarathon

Gravity Giveth, Gravity Taketh Away

John Alexander
Fascinate Me Fiction
6 min readJun 1, 2024

--

Solar eclipse, as seen from space.
Solar eclipse, as seen from space. credit: NASA Earth Observatory

Like all great ultramarathons, the Gravity started with the lighting of a cigarette.

I landed in Collinsboro the night before in disbelief that the race was finally happening. Before my daughter passed three years ago, she made me promise I would run the Gravity. She was my third child but called me her number-one dad; it was our little joke. Life went on, and running helped me remember her. And the race was finally here.

I watch the race bibs get primed at the start table.

“Fresh off the printer, you get the first one!”

And I realize I’m speaking to the race director, recluse ultrarunner Goldie Hryasgn. This is the man who invented this race after deciding one day to try the impossible.

Goldie checks his clock as the dozen-odd runners mill about. No radios allowed. No GPS. Just a survival suit, map, lamps, hydration, and an optional trekking pole. We count down the minutes, then seconds to the start.

Then I see the glow of a cigarette and smoke fill Goldie’s helmet — the race is on!

--

--

John Alexander
Fascinate Me Fiction

Software Engineer @ IBM ❘ Dad ❘ Inventor ❘ Musician ❘ Lover of all things aerospace