Approaching the Grand Opening of My 1st Storefront

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

--

Things have been moving along at a steady pace. I haven’t had time to write. I wish I did because I’ve learned a lot of lessons along the way these last few months. One of the things I’ve learned is that I grossly underestimated the time and money costs. I thought it would take me 2 months to open when I signed the lease. It’s been 6 months now. I thought renovations would cost $5k total, actual cost is going to be closer to $20k. And I borrowed all of that $20k. But I’ve been persistent, and it’s finally going to pay off.

Starcraft Command Center

Growing this business reminds me of playing Starcraft or Warcraft. Except instead of starting with 4 workers and a base, I started with just 1 worker, me. I’ve been running around all over the city day after day, week after week, collecting money to build my first base. And only by building this first base can I get more workers. But as more workers come in, my ability to build bases gets faster and faster.

There is another aspect to this that reminds me a lot of gaming as well, and it is maintaining the cash flow above zero, which is like your health bar in role playing games. If my cash flow hits zero, my business dies, and so I have to do everything in my power never to hit zero.

Speaking of cash flow I haven’t published my financial charts in a while so here they are.

That’s it for now. Can’t wait to open the store and start making real money.

--

--

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

I walk through mind fields. Cat lover. Writer. Entrepreneur. Cofounder of The Writing Cooperative.