I slept a lot this week.

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

--

(This story is part of a series documenting the journey of a 2016 Dallas startup called Feather. For your reference here is the Table of Contents for the series.)

One thing I do is sleep when I’m stressed out. I slept a lot this week. I won’t lie the election had a lot to do with it. But I see it as a weakness in myself that I let it get to me so much. Yes I love this country and I want to see it flourish. But who the president is will have much less of a direct consequence in my life than how I spend my time. If I’m spending my time worrying about politics, I’m not spending it working.

This is one of those instances where I let outside influences get under my skin and slow me down. And when I slow down everything around me seems to fall apart. It is most evident in my weekly sales.

Weekly sales trending downward last few weeks.

Here’s the good news: I have a plan! In the short term I’m going to create a proposal for the hotel manager I met with a couple weeks ago and pitch the idea of advertising my company to his guests. In the long term I am planning an aggressive 3-month marketing blitz beginning in January.

Why January?

Because we are closing on a house now and I will need time to pack and move into it, and I’d like to get settled in. Because the holidays are crazy. Because such an undertaking will require a decent amount of planning.

During this marketing blitz I want to experiment with all the ideas I’ve had but have not implemented such as —

  • Creating flyers and posting them around mailbox areas.
  • Creating packages specific to apartment complexes and sending them out.
  • Selling to apartment complexes door to door.
  • Approaching more hotels door to door.
  • Creating new ad campaigns for Instagram.
  • Creating new email marketing campaigns.
  • Experimenting with video ads, especially on Facebook.
  • Hanging door hangers on doors.

Right now though I am spending extra energy just to stay focused. Politics has stolen a lot of my time this week and I need to make up that time.

--

--

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

I walk through mind fields. Cat lover. Writer. Entrepreneur. Cofounder of The Writing Cooperative.