It’s Getting Kinda Hectic

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

--

A lot happened this week.

  • The dryer is shutting itself down mid-cycle and it is likely overheating or not getting air. From what I read online at minimum the duct needs to be cleaned out. Now that I’ve had another major problem with this dryer, it’s time to get a new one.
  • I ordered a new washer and dryer from Sears. They had a sale 50% off these bad boys. Although I’m planning on moving out of my brother’s house soon, I owe them at minimum a new washer and dryer for almost destroying theirs while living here rent free. I owe them a lot more than that.
  • Speaking of moving out, we are making our search for a house much more aggressive. I’ve expanded the area I’m willing to live in because right now it has become urgent. This will be once again my primary focus in November.
  • The new washer and dryer are supposed to arrive on Thursday. In the meantime, I need to get storage, hire movers to move the old washer and dryer into storage because I don’t want to discard them.
  • Also, I need to clean out the duct waiting for the new ones to arrive.
  • During this transition phase I will have to outsource the laundry or go to the laundromat to do it myself. That is what I ended up having to do yesterday, which is the first time that has happened. Sunday is a busy day at the laundromat. Had to wait for a dryer to come free. I will most likely outsource since I will be so busy.
  • I received a call from a hotel asking me to do their sheets and blankets. The volume is so high that I don’t think I will be able to handle doing it myself. But I believe I can make a deal to outsource it and act as the delivery / middle man until I increase capacity enough to do the work in-house. A hotel client can be a very big deal but I’m not going to get my hopes up yet. I have 2 meetings this week, one with the hotel manager and another with the owner of the laundry company I want to outsource the work to.

Top of mind this week is locking down the hotel client, looking at a few houses, and switching out the washer and dryer.

--

--

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

I walk through mind fields. Cat lover. Writer. Entrepreneur. Cofounder of The Writing Cooperative.