My Business Has Outgrown My House

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry
2 min readMay 28, 2016

--

My business is getting busier. Much busier. Sales are on pace to double from last month. My plan was to approach hotels and apartment complexes and make partnerships to increase sales. But they are already increasing at such a rate that I have to postpone that part of my plan.

The most urgent task now is to move the operation out of the house and into a professional facility. Finding a suitable place in a great location will not be easy. I have to focus all of my extra time to doing just this.

The problem is that if I keep working out of the house I will reach full capacity and will not be able to handle all the business. It is much better to obtain the capacity to be able to handle more business, before it gets out of hand.

I need more room to grow right now!

To finance this move, my brother has agreed to invest another $10,000 into my business on top of the $2,500 he has already invested. I’ve put in $6,000 myself. Feather Laundry has already reached the point where it is covering all of the expenses except labor, which I’m performing for free at the moment.

His investment will hopefully extend my runway long enough to reach profitability. My best guess is when net sales reach $6,000 per month. This month sales will be around $2,000.

Right now there’s only 1 thing on my to do list: find a commercial location. I’m going to focus all of my energy on this.

This story is part of a series documenting the journey of a 2016 Dallas startup called Feather. For your reference here is the Table of Contents for the series.

Previous Story: I Don’t Have the Courage to be a Salesman

Next Story: Sales Doubled in May!

Follow me more closely on Snapchat!

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

I walk through mind fields. Cat lover. Writer. Entrepreneur. Cofounder of The Writing Cooperative.