Running on Empty

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry
2 min readNov 28, 2016

--

The financial pressure is starting to pile on. I sometimes think i should be under this sort of pressure all the time. I let myself get too complacent and now I’m going to pay the price. Here is the gist.

Other than seeing my family on Thanksgiving Day, this was an awful week. I did almost no business this week. My normal week for the last few months has been roughly $700 but this week I did only $125.

On top of that we had to divest another $2,000 from the company to pay the closing cost of the house we are buying. This leaves me with less than $2k in the bank to operate on. This now an emergency. This is DEFCON 1. Red alert. Straight panic mode!

I know that when I’m under pressure like this I work much harder and I am much more self aware, but that doesn’t mean I like it. In fact I bust my ass just to alleviate the pressure so that I can live life at my pace.

Now I’m going to have to hustle, really hustle, to get sales up to the point where I don’t have to rely on outside capital to survive. That is the only way. Find new customers and find them fast, or perish. Or go find a job. Ugh!

So I have a few customer acquisition plans in motion, but I don’t have the time to detail them here. This is a short update because I have work to do. Stay tuned for the November report coming later this week so you can see how abysmal my situation is.

--

--

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

I walk through mind fields. Cat lover. Writer. Entrepreneur. Cofounder of The Writing Cooperative.