Update on the Store

Open letter to my landlord.

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry
Published in
2 min readMay 14, 2017

--

Hi Giti and Mike. I hope you are doing well.

I just want to update you on what is happening, which is nothing is happening. lol. Brett Harris told me the water is being blocked at the water meter which I think means the city has it shut off.

I submitted the application for my Certificate of Occupancy over 2 weeks ago. They said 1–2 weeks. I went back Friday and they said it is still in review. I’m going back Monday to pressure them to expedite the application.

This is the way I understand the process going forward, after the review of my application is completed -

1) I must make a parking agreement with a business next door for shared parking, and present that agreement to the city.

2) The city will then send a code inspector to the unit and I will need to bring the unit up to code.

3) Then the city will grant the certificate of occupancy which means I will have running water and electricity and can begin renovations.

4) Next I will need to get permits to install new plumbing, electricity, and venting for the washer dryers.

5) Then I will need to hire a contractor to do the work.

6) Then I will do final renovations on the store, get permits for the signs, and open the store.

This is going to be a long and arduous process. I have no control over how long the city will take to send inspectors and approve permits. I decided it is better to do everything the right way rather than not get permits and have the city shut down my business in the future. However, I will do everything in my power to open the store as soon as possible.

Right now I’m in the process of getting a loan. Hopefully it will be approved by the small business administration for a reduced interest rate. My lender needs a signed copy of the lease. Please email me the signature page of the lease with both signatures on it.

Thanks again for giving me the opportunity to open my store in your building.

Have a great day!

--

--

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

I walk through mind fields. Cat lover. Writer. Entrepreneur. Cofounder of The Writing Cooperative.