Wearing Every Hat is No Joke

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry
2 min readMar 27, 2016

--

When I started this company, my plan was not to do the laundry myself but outsource it. Deep down I knew that was probably the wrong decision. I was saved from my own bad decision by my very first customer who requested hypoallergenic laundry detergent. From that moment, I knew I would have to do some of the laundry myself.

Since that moment, I’ve done all of the laundry myself. Over 400 lbs. of it. Of course this leaves me much less time for other activities, including writing for this series, but the benefits outweigh the costs.

For example, doing the laundry myself has given me

  • the ability to have 24 hour turnaround or even same day service.
  • the ability to control which products are used to clean the clothes.
  • the ability to package the clothes in a way that makes my brand stand out.
  • the ability to accept special requests from my customers.

Not to mention the money I saved. I’m so glad I did not outsource the work. When the time comes, hopefully I will be able to hire someone to take on this work. That way, I will still be able to retain the amount of quality control I have now, but start focusing my own work on growing the business.

For now, I’m wearing every hat — from growth and marketing to labor and delivery to accounting and administration. I’m still committed to this blog series and not going more than 5 days without posting. The fact that I’m posting less is good news. It means I’m busy… doing laundry!

To Do List Update

  1. Build a new Facebook ad campaign.
  2. Reach out to Instagram influencers.
  3. Add free laundry bag to website.
  4. Find local bulletin boards to attach flyers / business cards.
  5. Create a pitch deck for b2b sales.
  6. Begin designing Snapchat Geofilter.
  7. Email Twitch about advertising locally.
  8. Write down the back-end process.

This story is part of a series documenting the journey of a 2016 Dallas startup called Feather. For your reference here is the Table of Contents for the series.

Previous Story: Feather’s Advertising Results and Conversion Metrics

Next Story: March 2016 Report

Follow me more closely on Snapchat!

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Sand Farnia
Feather Laundry

I walk through mind fields. Cat lover. Writer. Entrepreneur. Cofounder of The Writing Cooperative.